How to get a hardship license in Kentucky?

I was recently convicted of a DUI in Kentucky, so I can’t drive. I need to get to work, which is an hour away and public transit doesn’t go in that direction. How can I get a hardship license here in Kentucky?

Jason Tushinski · Updated on
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
To get a hardship license in
, you’ll need to talk to an attorney about filling out and filing a hardship license application. This must be accompanied by an Affidavit signed, in your case, by your employer.
Keep in mind that you won’t be able to get your hardship license immediately, as Kentucky’s legislature has mandated an initial hard time suspension with the following periods:
  • 1st offense—30 days
  • 2nd offense—12 months
  • 3rd offense—24 months
  • 4th offense—hardship license not available with four or more offenses
You’ll need to make the case that you qualify for a hardship license by proving that you need the ability to drive to:
  • Work
  • School
  • Necessary medical appointments
  • Driver’s education or alcohol/drug education programs
  • Court-ordered counseling
It will be up to the District Court to decide whether to grant you a hardship license or not. The Court may order you to install an ignition interlock device in your car, but this is not guaranteed.
Whenever you get your driver’s license back, be sure to find a great
car insurance
policy at an affordable price by using
. Sign-up takes just under a minute, and the average Jerry user saves more than $800 per year!
View full answer 
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.

Join 4M+ members in lowering their car insurance

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings