How do I find out the grace period on my car loan in NJ?
I recently moved states and refinanced my vehicle. However, I lost my job due to COVID-19 and I'm behind on the payments. The grace period was 10 days in Delaware. What is it in New Jersey?
“You’ll have to read the contract. Grace periods aren’t determined by the state government; they’re chosen by the lender.
Typically, you’ll have between five and 15 days for a grace period without a penalty, and up to 60 days before they decide to repo your car.
For the sake of your relationship with your lender, you should call and let them know you might be late on your payments until you find a new job. They will appreciate the call and likely be willing to work with you if you’ve been laid off because of COVID-19.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Can you be sued after a car accident in Missouri?
I was at fault in an accident. The cost of medical bills was $50,000 and my insurance only covered $30,000. I can't pay the remaining amount and now the other driver is suing me. Is this legal?
Jul 30, 2021
What should I do if I got into an accident without insurance?
My car insurance was canceled two weeks ago, but I recently got into an accident. While I say it was the other driver's fault, he says it's mine. Now his insurance company wants to sue me. What do I do?
Apr 13, 2021
What coverage does home insurance provide?
I'm a first-time home buyer. I need to get home insurance, but what does it cover?
Sep 09, 2021