How to Replace a Lost Alabama Driver’s License

For a $31.25 fee, you can request a new license online or in-person to replace a lost Alabama driver’s license.
Written by Maxine Boyko
Edited by R.E. Fulton
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
background
If you lost your
Alabama driver’s license
, you can apply for a duplicate at a driver’s license center in person or request a replacement through the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s online portal. In either case, it will cost $31.25 to produce a duplicate card.
Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

How to replace a lost driver’s license in Alabama

Alabama
drivers should report a lost driver's license immediately and start the replacement process online or by visiting a driver's license center.
Be sure to park your car in the meantime, as there are serious legal penalties if you’re caught
driving without a license
. Thankfully, replacing a lost license is fairly straightforward once you know all of your options.

Replacing a lost Alabama license online

The most convenient way to replace your license is through the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s (ALEA)
online portal
Follow the screen prompts and have the following information available to submit: 
  • Your birthdate and Social Security number
  • Your driver’s license number
You will need a valid credit card to pay the $31.25 licensing fee, plus an additional processing charge. Be sure to print your receipt to serve as your temporary license. Your license will be mailed to the address on file within 30 days of receipt. 

Replacing a lost Alabama license in person

You may need to get your license replacement in person if you need to make changes to the name or address displayed on it.
You can use the online license center locations
map
to locate the department office nearest to you. Once you’re on location, you’ll need to provide proof of identity with your Social Security number and two forms of identification. One document should have your photo on it. If not, you will need to present three forms of non-photo identification. 
Here’s a list of notably accepted forms of documentation:
  • Passport
  • Certified birth certificate
  • Certified marriage license
  • Valid military ID
Use the
ID documents list
to determine other acceptable forms of documentation. 
Acceptable forms of payment for the $31.25 duplicate license fee are cash or a local check. You will receive a temporary license while you wait for up to 30 days for your license to arrive in the mail. 

What if you lose your Alabama license out of state?

Losing your Alabama license out of state is not ideal, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be done. 
There are a few unique reasons why you may need your license mailed to an address outside of Alabama, including: 
  • Military service
  • Attending school in another state
  • Working out of state on assignment
  • Missionary work
  • Medical reasons (either undergoing treatment or serving as a primary caregiver)
If you’re applying for a replacement out of state, you will need to mail a completed
license renewal form
to: 
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
Driver License Division
PO Box 1471
Montgomery AL 36102-1471
Be sure to include the required supporting documents listed on the form and the $31.25 duplicate fee.
“I’ve shaved off at least $50 a month using
Jerry
. For now, I chose only to pay for Alabama state minimums, but I am confident that with Jerry, I can upgrade or change my coverage at any time. The AI-integrated process is really intuitive, too!” —Fred D.
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings