Wyoming DUI Laws

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Wyoming DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot be under the influence of alcohol or drugs and/or have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers cannot exceed 0.04%, and underage drivers cannot exceed 0.02%.
More than 10,000 people are killed in the U.S. each year due to drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime, and penalties will vary by state. Even for a first-time offense, drivers will shell out up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will definitely affect your car insurance rates as well.
That’s why the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in Wyoming.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI?

A DUI refers to driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired. Each state determines the difference between these two charges, but Wyoming uses the term "DUI" in its state laws.
A DUI charge could mean that the driver was under the influence of alcohol or drugs, even if the drugs weren’t illegal—you can get a DUI charge from prescription drugs or over-the-counter drugs if they make you impaired.
In some states, the charges are OUI (operating under the influence) or OWI (operating while intoxicated).

DUI in Wyoming

In Wyoming, it is illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of:
  • 0.08% or higher if you’re 21 or older
  • 0.04% or higher if you’re a commercial driver
  • 0.02% or higher if you’re under 21
Key Takeaway It is illegal to operate a vehicle if you are "under the influence" of alcohol or a controlled substance. In this case, being "under the influence" means that you are not in control of your mind or body due to drugs or alcohol and meet these BAC levels.
Wyoming, like every state, has an implied consent law, which stipulates that drivers consent to be tested if they are suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
If you are lawfully arrested for a DUI, you must submit to a blood, breath, or urine test. If you refuse, the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) will revoke your license for at least six months.
With a warrant, a police officer can obtain a blood sample by force.

Penalties for DUI in Wyoming

If you are convicted of a DUI in Wyoming, you will be required to complete an alcohol and drug abuse assessment and treatment. A judge can require you to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program if that’s deemed necessary.
You will also pay a fine, temporarily lose your license, and potentially serve jail time.
You may be placed on probation for up to three years and receive a probationary license or a restricted license as a result of your DUI.
DUI convictions in Wyoming remain on your record for 10 years.

First offense

PenaltyDescription
FineUp to $750
JailUp to 6 months
License suspension90 days
SR-22 requirementYes
Ignition interlock device (IID)6 months (if BAC exceeds 0.15%)

Second offense

PenaltyDescription
Fine$200 to $750
Jail7 days to 6 months
License suspension1 year
SR-22 requirementYes
Ignition interlock device (IID)1 year

Third offense

PenaltyDescription
Fine$750 to $3,000
Jail1 to 6 months
License suspension3 years
SR-22 requirementYes
Ignition interlock device (IID)2 years

Subsequent offenses

After a fourth or subsequent conviction in Wyoming, a DUI gets upgraded from a misdemeanor to a felony.
PenaltyDescription
FineUp to $10,000
JailUp to 7 years
License suspensionIndefinite
SR-22 requirementYes
Ignition interlock device (IID)Permanent

Aggravated DUI penalties

If there was a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle while you were impaired, you will face up to 5 years in jail and a $750 fine.
If you are responsible for causing serious bodily injury as a result of your DUI, you can be convicted of a felony and face the following penalties:
PenaltyDescription
Fine$2,000 to $5,000
JailUp to 20 years
License suspension3 years

Underage DUI penalties

Drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC level between 0.02% and 0.08% can be subject to the following penalties:
Penalty1st Offense2nd Offense (within a year)3rd Offense (within two years)
Fine$750Up to $750Up to $750
JailNoUp to 30 daysUp to 6 months
License suspension90 days6 months6 months
Ignition interlock device (IID)No1 year2 years
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Wyoming?

Yes. Insurance companies take DUI convictions very seriously, and you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver going forward. This means that your auto insurance rates will increase.
It can be hard to find affordable insurance with a DUI on your record, so you’ll probably need to look at several different providers to find the right policy.
Jerry can quickly compare rates from up to 50 top insurers so that you don’t have to spend time completing online forms and dealing with sales calls.
Additionally, your insurance company will have to submit an SR-22 filing on your behalf to certify that you meet Wyoming’s insurance requirements.

Other effects of a DUI

Besides conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIs can impact your life in other ways.
License suspension: After getting a DUI, you will have your license revoked for at least three months. After a fourth offense, you could lose your license permanently.
Vehicle registration suspension: If you are convicted of two DUIs within two years, the DOT will suspend your vehicle registration throughout the remainder of your license suspension period. This means that no one else can drive your vehicle until your license is reinstated.
Ignition interlock device (IID): These devices prevent you from starting your car if you have any alcohol on your breath. If you get a DUI in Wyoming, you may be required to install an IID in your vehicle once your license is reinstated.
Background checks: DUIs appear on background checks, which could hurt your job prospects in the future.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. They even help cancel your old policy!
Why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
"I have a really bad record, so all of my previous insurance quotes were pretty high. I started using Jerry and this fantastic app saved me $130 a month on my insurance." —Jett A.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free