All Minnesota drivers are required by state law to invest in $25,000 worth of uninsured motorist coverage. In fact, driving without it makes you an underinsured motorist yourself!
Minimum car insurance requirements in Minnesota include liability insurance and personal injury protection (PIP) coverage as well as uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage. Each of these coverage requirements will help you to pay for personal and property damages resulting from a car accident in the Land of 10,000 Lakes.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Do you need uninsured motorist coverage in Minnesota?
Uninsured motorist coverageis indeed a legal requirement for all drivers in Minnesota. But why do you need it?
According to figures provided by the
Insurance Information Institute (III), approximately 9.9% of all drivers in Minnesota are uninsured. That might not seem like a lot, and compared to other states, it’s not. In fact, Minnesota ranks 33rd out of 50 when it comes to uninsured drivers.
That being said, with 10% of drivers being uninsured, you have a one in ten chance of finding yourself in an accident involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist in Minnesota.
Should you find yourself in this situation, you’ll thank the Minnesota DMV for requiring you to invest in uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. Not only is UM insurance extremely affordable compared to other coverage types, but it will also help to pay for medical expenses you may need (that are related to your accident) after you have exhausted your
personal injury protection(PIP) coverage and when the at-fault driver is not covered by insurance themselves.
Even better, UM insurance in Minnesota is extremely affordable, partially due to its lower percentage of uninsured drivers. On average, Minnesota drivers should expect to pay only $50 to $75 per year for their UM insurance coverage.
How uninsured motorist insurance works in Minnesota
Taking a closer look at all of the
Minnesota car insurance laws, you’ll find that you need to invest in $40,000 of personal injury protection (PIP), $90,000 of
liability coverage($30,000 for injuries to one person, $60,000 for injuries to two or more people), $10,000 of
property damage liability, and $25,000 of UM and UIM coverage.
What it covers
Generally speaking, UM/UIM bodily injury coverage provides Minnesota drivers with coverage of their medical expenses resulting from an accident wherein an uninsured or underinsured driver is deemed liable. UM/UIM coverage, however, only gets used if you’ve already exhausted your PIP benefits. Let’s take a closer look at everything that your UM/UIM insurance coverage will cover:
- Future medical expenses
- Pain and suffering (under certain circumstances)
- Lost wages
- ER bills
- Long-term rehabilitative or nursing care
- Services such as yard work or cleaning that you’re no longer able to do
- Medical devices such as wheelchairs
- Surgical costs
- Retrofitting your house to accommodate a disability caused by the accident
While it’s sad to think that you or your loved one might suffer a serious, life-altering injury as the result of an accident, at least you can rest assured that your medical bills and related costs will be covered by your UM/UIM insurance policy.
How to make a claim
The exact process for filing a claim is going to vary depending on which insurance provider you have. As a rule, however, you’ll want to follow the following steps to make a claim
after an accident:
- Exchange information: Make sure you get the names of any and all involved parties, including the other driver and passengers, as well as the name of their insurer, their policy number, and their license plate number. If the driver in question is entirely uninsured, some of this information may not be available, but get as much info as you can.
- Get a witness: Write down the name, address, and phone number of an independent witness who saw the crash occur. Their testimony could potentially be vital in proving that the other driver was at fault and not yourself.
- Call your agent: Finally, you’ll want to get in touch with your insurance provider, either by calling them directly or by calling the claims processing number listed on your insurance policy. This step will likely vary in terms of specifics from one provider to the next.
In the aftermath of the accident, you’ll also want to forward relevant documents to your agent, such as medical records and hospital bills. The more documents you can show the insurance company, the easier your case evaluation will be.
Unfortunately, if your medical bills exceed the limits set by your UM/UIM policy, you’ll have to have them covered by health insurance or paid for out of pocket.
How to save on uninsured motorist coverage in Minnesota
Minnesota drivers don’t really have a choice when it comes to buying UM/UIM insurance coverage, but they do have a choice when it comes to how much they’ll pay for it! Generally speaking, UM/UIM coverage is already very affordable in Minnesota—about $50 to $75 per year. But with the right car insurance provider, that cost can get even smaller!
trustworthy licensed insurance broker, Jerry can help you find the lowest rates on the car insurance coverage you need at a fraction of the price by providing you with custom competitive quotes from our catalog of 55 partner companies. In as little as 45 seconds,
Jerrycan match you with a real-time quote that can slash your Minnesota car insurance costs by an average of $800+ per year!