Car Seat Laws in Texas
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What is it?
- Driving record
- Insurance implications
- Cheap insurance
Texas car seat laws dictate that children under eight years old require a car seat unless they are taller than 4’ 9”. Older children require a seat belt if they have outgrown their booster seats.
These laws help keep young passengers safe—and you will face consequences if you break the child car seat laws in Texas.
That’s why the car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about car seat laws in Texas to prevent fines and keep your children safe on the road.
What is the car seat law in Texas?
If a child is younger than eight years old and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches, Texas law requires that they use a child safety seat.
While it is legal for kids older than eight to use adult seat belts, the safest option is to continue using a booster seat until they can properly fit the adult seat belt.
Texas has guidelines—but no laws—about types of car seats by age. However, experts recommend rear-facing car seats for children under two, followed by forward-facing car seats in the backseat once they reach 40 pounds.
There are also no laws in Texas that specify where the child is allowed to sit in the vehicle. But laws do require that safety seats must be used per the manufacturer’s instructions, and all rear-facing seats prohibit front-seat installation if there is a passenger airbag.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of eight and under 4 feet 9 inches need to use a child safety seat.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Texas?
A fine of up to $250 will be your penalty for breaking the car seat law in Texas. Plus, it’s considered a misdemeanor and a moving violation, so you could also receive two points on your driving record.
Key Takeaway You will receive a fine and two points on your record if you break the car seat law in Texas.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
Yes, in Texas the state is allowed to penalize you with two points on your driving record.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Texas
Your car insurance premium is calculated based on several factors, but your driving record is a major one.
So, if you break the car seat laws in Texas and get points on your record, this shows insurance companies that you are a risky driver. As a result, they will charge you a higher price for car insurance.
Finding cheap car insurance
If you’re a driver shopping for car insurance in Texas, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassles.
It’s this simple: download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from up to 50 top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest.
“Quick, easy, painless, and I’m saving $150 a month.” - Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually