Tennessee Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What’s required?
- Underinsured/uninsured motorist
- Is minimum enough?
- Proof of financial responsibility
- Cheap insurance
Motorists in the state of Tennessee are legally required to carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance, summarized as 25/50/15. This stands for: $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $15,000 of property liability per accident.
If you’re looking for an easy way to save on your car insurance in Tennessee, download the Jerry app. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers.
Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassle.
Here is everything that you need to know about Tennessee car insurance laws.
What car insurance is required by law in Tennessee?
Tennessee car insurance laws require drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage.
Motorists must also carry valid proof of insurance when driving.
The following is a summary of the minimum required car insurance limits for Tennessee.
Tennessee minimum car insurance
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/15|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$15,000|
Key Takeaway Tennessee drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance and proof of insurance when on the road.
Underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage in TN
Insurance companies are required to provide Tennessee drivers with uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in addition to the usual bodily injury and property damage liability insurance minimums.
While liability insurance helps cover damage for other parties if you cause an accident, uninsured motorist insurance will help cover your own costs if you get in an accident with a driver who doesn’t carry enough insurance.
Tennessee motorists must reject uninsured motorist insurance in writing if they don’t want the coverage.
MORE: Lemon law Tennessee
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Tennessee?
The state minimum liability insurance required in Tennessee is briefly summarized as 25/50/15. This is an abbreviated way to describe three types of liability insurance.
Here is a more detailed explanation of what type of coverage these limits provide:
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: The maximum amount per person your car insurance company will pay out if you cause an accident is $25,000.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: Your insurance company will pay out up to a limit of $50,000 total to cover the cost of injuries for another party if you are at fault in an accident.
$15,000 in property damage liability per accident: $15,000 is the maximum limit your insurance provider will pay out to cover property damage if you cause an accident.
Should I get more coverage than Tennessee’s required insurance minimum?
Tennessee minimum liability car insurance requirements are below average—and will only provide compensation for the other party if you cause an accident.
If you want more robust protection, purchasing additional coverage options like comprehensive insurance, collision insurance, and medical payments (MedPay) will help cover your own expenses.
Most experts also recommend increasing liability limits to 50/100/50 for added protection.
If you want cheap car insurance quotes fast, go to Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, lets you tailor your policy, and helps you switch plans. Jerry will even cancel your old policy and handle your renewals so you don’t have to.
Providing alternative proof of financial responsibility
The Tennessee Department of Safety (DOS) allows drivers who don’t want to purchase the minimum state car insurance limits to provide alternative proof of financial responsibility.
Motorists must file a cash or security deposit or a surety bond of $60,000 with the DOS. If you cause an accident and don’t have enough money, the surety company will pay for the damages—but you will have to pay them back later.
If you choose to leave a cash or security deposit, the commissioner will verify you have no unsatisfied judgments before issuing your proof of coverage. A surety bond must be issued by a Tennessee-licensed surety company and will only be valid as proof of insurance for a year after it is issued.
Key Takeaway Tennessee motorists can choose to opt for an alternative form of financial responsibility if they don’t want to take out the state-required car insurance minimums.
How to get cheap car insurance in Tennessee
Jerry is an intelligent AI-based insurance shopping app that makes finding the best rates on car insurance in Tennessee—or anywhere else in the country—easy. If you’d rather leave the hard work of gathering quotes to someone else, use Jerry. This free app can collect quotes from up to 50 top insurance companies in seconds!
Once you make your pick, Jerry takes care of everything else. Jerry cancels your old policy, takes care of the paperwork and switchover, and will even send you a list of new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal. So you always get the coverage options you want at the most affordable price.
This Jerry user was thrilled with their experience, giving the app five stars:
“Super easy and convenient! I put in a little information about myself and my car, and then a short time later, I had several quotes. I did not have to give my phone number, so I did not have multiple expensive companies calling me repeatedly—that alone was worth the app! They found me a company with a great rate and handled everything online and through text. Thanks, Jerry!!”—Satisfied Jerry user
Is it mandatory to have car insurance in Tennessee?
It is mandatory for Tennessee motorists to carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance, summarized as 25/50/15. However, drivers may opt to provide alternative proof of financial responsibility instead.
Does insurance follow the car or driver in Tennessee?
Car insurance in Tennessee typically follows the car, not the driver.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually