Pennsylvania Car Insurance Requirements (2023)

Pennsylvania requires all drivers to carry low levels of liability coverage and $5,000 of First Party Benefit, a medical coverage similar to PIP.
Written by Bonnie Stinson
Edited by Sarah Gray
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
car insurance laws require all drivers to purchase minimum liability insurance and First Party Benefit, a type of coverage for medical bills.
  • Pennsylvania drivers must carry bodily injury and property damage liability as well as FPB, or First Party Benefit medical protection.
  • The state minimum limits in Pennsylvania are quite low, so drivers should consider purchasing additional coverage.
  • Car inspections are required annually as a condition of renewing your registration.
  • Penalties for driving without insurance in Pennsylvania include fines, license and registration suspension, and possible impoundment.

Minimum car insurance requirements in Pennsylvania: Liability and First Party Benefit (FPB)

Pennsylvania’s minimum insurance requirements include the following liability limits: 
With this insurance coverage, your company will pay the medical costs for someone you injure up to $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. It will also pay up to $5,000 for property damage you cause.
Under Pennsylvania state law, drivers are also required to carry the following:
  • $5,000 of First Party Benefit per person
  • Full or limited tort
You must decide on a Pennsylvania tor tort option. Limited tort means that your premium is lower but you can only sue for economic damages (except in the event of disfigurement or death). Full tort allows you to sue for pain and suffering but your premium will be higher.
Here is a summary of the minimum insurance requirements for Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania minimum auto insurance requirements

Type of coverage
Minimum insurance limit
Minimum liability coverage
Bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
Bodily injury per accident 
Property damage liability (PDL)
First Party Medical Benefit per person
Tort coverage option
Limited or full
Key Takeaway Pennsylvania is a no-fault state that requires drivers to carry liability coverage and First Party Benefit medical coverage.

Understanding Pennsylvania’s minimum insurance coverage requirements

Liability insurance
gives you protection in the event that you cause an accident resulting in injuries or property damage to others. It will pay out to cover these costs up to your policy limit, but it will not pay for any of your own damage. 
First Party Benefit insurance is similar to personal injury protection (PIP). It covers medical costs, nursing services, lost wages, funeral costs, and more.  
The state minimum coverages do not include any protection for your own vehicle.

How much does Pennsylvania state minimum coverage cost?

State minimum coverage in Pennsylvania costs an average of $1,488 per year, or $124 per month. A standard full coverage policy costs $2,067 per year. 
Car insurance rates are highly individualized based on your age, gender, ZIP code, driving history, vehicle type, and other factors. You can lower your premiums by raising your deductibles,
qualifying for discounts
, and
comparing quotes

Do you need more coverage than Pennsylvania’s required insurance minimum?

Yes. Pennsylvania’s minimum coverage requirements are quite low compared to most states—and compared to the average costs of recovering from a car accident. 
Let’s see how the state minimum limits would hold up against the costs of an auto accident. 

Here’s what it might look like if you’re in an accident with minimal coverage…

Let’s start with liability. The average cost of a bodily injury claim is about $22,000. If you cause an accident in Pennsylvania, your BIL would cover these costs up to the per person and per accident limits. 
The average property damage claim is just over $5,000. Your minimum coverage limit is $5,000, so you might barely have enough coverage if it’s a small accident.
Now let’s consider your own expenses. Whether or not you caused the accident, you can tap into your First Person Benefit for medical costs for you and anyone in your vehicle. But the state minimum is $5,000, which is unlikely to cover costs in the event of a serious accident.
Key Takeaway Pennsylvania’s low minimum insurance limits could expose you to tens of thousands of dollars of unnecessary liability and out-of-pocket costs. 

Additional coverage options

A full coverage car insurance policy with liability, comprehensive, and collision coverage opens up a world of add-ons that you can include in your Pennsylvania auto insurance plan. Some of the best additional coverage options include: 
  • Comprehensive insurance
    : This covers your motor vehicle if it’s damaged by storms, falling trees, hail, vandalism, or if it’s stolen.
  • Collision insurance
    : This covers collision-related damage to your own car, such as car accidents and collisions with stationary objects.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage (UM):
    UM is a mandatory coverage that pays for your medical expenses if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver who isn’t insured. Pennsylvania has a relatively low rate of uninsured drivers (6%), but it’s not worth the risk since the minimum liability levels are so low. 
  • Gap insurance:
    If you recently bought a vehicle, gap coverage is a cheap way to protect against serious financial losses while you still owe more than the car is worth—but
    buy it from your insurance company
    , not your dealership. 
  • Towing and labor insurance
    : This covers roadside assistance up to the policy’s limit, including things like jumpstarts, lockouts, tire changes, and towing.
  • Rental car reimbursement insurance
    : Get the cost of a rental car covered up to your policy limits during a multi-day repair after a covered incident.

Annual car inspections are required in Pennsylvania

Annual safety checks are required for most passenger vehicles under Pennsylvania’s
inspection and safety requirements
. Your driving equipment will be checked, including the lights, brakes, tires, mirror, horn, and exhaust system.
A proposal is currently under consideration that would make inspections mandatory in Pennsylvania only when a vehicle is sold or the title is transferred.

What is the penalty for not having auto insurance coverage in Pennsylvania?

You must be able to show
proof of car insurance
coverage in the state of Pennsylvania whenever you get behind the wheel. Failure to do so can result in fines, license suspension, registration suspension, and possible vehicle impoundment—plus higher car insurance premiums for the policyholder.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Pennsylvania

First and subsequent offenses

  • $300 fine
  • Vehicle registration suspension (3 months)
  • License suspension (3 months)
  • $94 restoration fee for registration
  • ~$100 fee to restore license
  • Possible impoundment
You can avoid the suspension by paying a $500 civil penalty. Pennsylvania does not require the
SR-22 certificate
of financial responsibility.
If you had insurance at the time of the incident but you weren’t carrying proof of insurance, you may be able to avoid fines by sending your insurance ID or declaration page.
If you know that your insurance is about to expire, you have the option to surrender your registration to avoid penalties. Check with your
local DMV
about your options.


You must carry liability coverage to the amount of 15/30/5, or $15,000 bodily injury per person, $30,000 bodily injury per accident, and $5,000 property damage per accident. You must also carry $5,000 in First Party Benefit, a medical benefit similar to personal injury protection.
Yes. All drivers must be insured in the state of Pennsylvania. If you do not own your own vehicle but drive someone else’s, you should either be listed as a named driver on their policy or you should purchase your own
non-owner coverage
Yes, you should be able to secure car insurance in Pennsylvania with a license from another state.
Yes. Pennsylvania is a
no-fault state
. You have the right to file a third-party claim (through the at-fault driver’s insurance company) for your property damage instead of using your collision coverage.
While you may file a claim through your own collision insurance to cover property damage, the at-fault driver is ultimately responsible for the damages.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

You might also be interested

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free