Payment Plan for a Suspended License in Florida

Thanks to a new Florida law, residents can access payment plans more than ever—which is good news for drivers with suspended licenses.
Written by Kathryn Kurlychek
Reviewed by Georgina Grant
Thanks to a 2022 law,
drivers with
suspended licenses
can use a payment plan to pay off any court-mandated fines and fees. Most county courts allow you to apply for a payment plan online. 
Payment plan for a suspended license in Florida
  • A new Florida statute makes payment plans more readily available for court-ordered fines and fees to avoid or clear a suspended license. 
  • To prevent a license suspension due to unpaid court fines, set up a payment plan with the court clerk on your court date.
  • To
    reinstate an already suspended license
    , set up a payment plan with the court, bring the affidavit to the Florida Department of Highway and Safety Motor Vehicles, and pay the reinstatement fee separately.

Can you get a payment plan to avoid or clear a suspended license in Florida?

Yes, payment plans for suspended licenses are available in Florida—and, thanks to a new state law, they’re easier than ever to access. 
In July of 2022, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis signed bill HB 397 into law, approving the creation of more affordable payment plans for court-ordered fines and fees. 
This change in legislation aids more than two million Floridians according to the Fines and Fees Justice Center, which estimates at least that many residents (or 1 in 8 drivers) face a suspended driver’s license due to not paying a court fine or fee in full.  
Under HB 397, payment plans are more accessible than ever—which is great news for drivers who have had their licenses suspended or might face a suspension for unpaid court fines. 
The law sets minimum payment plan amounts at the following increments: 
  • $25 per month or 
  • 2% of your annual income divided by 12 (whichever is greater)
Additionally, if your payment plan requires a down payment to the clerk of court, that amount will be no greater than 10% of what you owe or $100—whichever number is less. 
The first step to taking advantage of Florida’s new payment plans is filling out a payment plan application. Most Florida County Clerk of Court websites will have an application you can submit right through their site. If your license has been suspended, you’ll need to pay the reinstatement fee separately at any Florida driver’s license service center or by phone at 850-617-3000.
Key Takeaway Law HB 397 makes payment plans for court-ordered fines and fees accessible to Florida residents, reducing the number of driver’s license suspensions resulting from late or incomplete payments. 

Payment options for traffic violation fines and fees in Florida 

If you’ve qualified for a payment plan under HB 397 for a traffic-related penalty, there are a few ways you can submit your monthly payments:
  • By mail: Payments may be accepted in the form of a check or money order mailed to the clerk’s office. 
  • By phone: Alternatively, payments may also be accepted over the phone by calling (850) 617-2000. 
  • Online: One of the fastest ways to pay is by logging into your DMV Portal on the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website (
    ) to make a payment online. 
  • In-person: You can make monthly payments in person at either your local FLHSMV or tax collector’s office. 
“My past traffic tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With
, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R. 
Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers


Yes. Whether your license has been suspended as the result of a traffic citation or simply because you couldn’t pay your court costs in full, payment plans are available to residents across Florida state. 
In most cases, you’ll have to pay a reinstatement fee to have your driver’s license reinstated in Florida. You may also be required to file an SR-22 insurance to provide proof that the vehicle is insured before having your license reinstated. 
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings