How to Get Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in Texas

Most Texas insurance providers offer non-owner SR-22 in Texas for high-risk drivers, but the average cost depends on the provider.
Written by Andrea Barrett
Edited by Jessica Barrett
background
If you need to file an SR-22 certificate in
Texas
but don’t own a car, you’ll need non-owner SR-22 car insurance. This type of insurance offers liability coverage and certifies you meet Texas’ state car insurance requirements. But you may not be able to find it with every major insurance provider.
  • Non-owner SR-22 insurance offers liability coverage for people who don’t own a car but have SR-22 requirements
  • Most major insurance providers offer non-owner SR-22 insurance policies
  • The average cost of non-owner SR-22 insurance is $429 per year with State Farm and $899 with GEICO
  • If you’ve had a serious moving violation, such as a DUI or driving without a valid license, you might need to purchase non-owner SR-22 coverage

How to get non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas

If you don’t own a car in Texas but need insurance and require an SR-22 certificate, you can still purchase a non-owner car insurance policy.
Non-owner car insurance
is a type of liability insurance for drivers who don’t have their own vehicle. If you frequently borrow or rent cars, this is the best insurance policy for you. 
To purchase a non-owner SR-22 policy, you’ll need to: 
  • Contact local insurance agencies to confirm if they sell non-owner insurance to drivers who require an SR-22 certificate. 
  • Gather at least three to five car insurance quotes before you settle on a policy. In particular, comparing car insurance quotes is a great way to secure cheap auto insurance coverage regardless of your driving history.
  • Keep an eye out for insurance discounts. Various insurance companies will reduce your premium if you pay your bill in full or take a defensive driving course.

Most major insurance providers offer non-owner insurance 

Luckily, most major insurance providers offer non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas, including
Nationwide
,
GEICO
,
State Farm
, and
USAA

How an SR-22 works in Texas 

In the state of Texas, you’ll need to maintain your SR-22 for two years from your most recent conviction date. After this period, if you still don’t own a vehicle but plan on borrowing or renting one as before, you'll still need to hold onto your non-owner car insurance. 
Remember that regardless of whether you have a non-owner car insurance policy, you’ll need insurance that meets Texas’ state requirements.
Texas car insurance laws
state that all drivers are legally required to purchase the following minimum liability insurance
Of course, you can (and should!) carry more than the minimum liability coverage required. But if you need to satisfy SR-22 requirements in Texas, you can purchase a liability-only policy from your insurance company. 

Best companies for cheap non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas

Finding an affordable car insurance policy with an SR-22 requirement can be tricky, so we recommend shopping around and gathering quotes from at least three providers before you commit. 
Several Texas car insurance providers offer non-owner SR-22 insurance, but not every insurer will offer you the best rate.
Here’s a rundown of the top insurance companies that offer non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas and how much you can expect to pay:
Insurance Provider
Average Non-Owner SR-22 Policy Cost
$429
$899
$925
Other companies offer non-owner SR-22 insurance policies. Companies like
Farmers
and
Progressive
have non-owner SR-22 insurance, but you can also contact smaller local insurance providers and ask about non-owner auto insurance policy rates. The major providers don’t always offer the cheapest rates.
Alternatively, get in touch with a local insurance agent familiar with Texas providers—they might be able to find you even better savings.

Here’s when you might need non-owner SR-22 insurance

If your driver’s license has been suspended due to a serious moving violation, you may be required to file an
SR-22 certificate in Texas
What type of serious moving violations? You may need an SR-22 form if you have one or more of the following charges on your Texas DMV driving record: 
  • At-fault accident that causes injury or death
  • Driving without a license 
  • DUI
    or DWI
  • Reckless driving
  • Refusing a breathalyzer test 
  • Repeated traffic violations

FAQs

Yes—that’s why there’s non-owner SR-22 insurance! Texas SR-22 certificates are required for drivers convicted of serious moving violations, such as a DUI or driving uninsured. Drivers with a license suspension also require SR-22 filing to have their driving privileges reinstated, even if you don’t own a car. While not every major insurer offers non-owner SR-22 insurance, providers like State Farm and GEICO offer the cheapest insurance rates for Texas drivers.
Texas non-owner car insurance
provides liability coverage for drivers who don’t own a car or frequently rent or borrow someone else’s. If you plan to get behind the wheel of a vehicle—whether you own it or not—you’ll need auto insurance that meets Texas’ state car insurance requirements. A non-owner policy meets these requirements but follows you from car to car. Plus, it’s generally cheaper than a liability-only policy.
The average cost to file a
Texas SR-22
is between $15 and $50. However, car insurance policies can be up to 50% more expensive for drivers with an SR-22 requirement than those with a
clean driving record
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings