If you need to file an SR-22 to reinstate your driver's license but don’t own a car, you can purchase non-owner SR-22 insurance through an authorized company in Illinois.
Drivers with three or more convictions for major traffic violations or have license suspensions will need to file an SR-22 certificate with the Illinois Secretary of State’s office to prove they have the required
car insurancecoverage. However, if you don’t have a car, you can get non-owner insurance and have the insurer file an SR-22 for you: here’s how in Illinois.
What is SR-22 insurance?
First things first. An
SR-22isn’t actually a type of car insurance, even though it’s commonly referred to as such. Instead, it’s a certificate of financial responsibility filed with the Illinois Secretary of State by your insurance provider.
An SR-22 certificate verifies that you have purchased a car insurance policy that meets the
minimum liability limitsrequired in your state. You’ll need to file an SR-22 certificate with the Secretary of State’s office if you are trying to get your license reinstated after a major violation conviction, such as a DUI or reckless driving—and that’s on top of reinstatement fees.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Illinois auto insurance requirements
The state of Illinois requires all vehicle owners and drivers to carry the following liability insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage:$25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $20,000 per accident
- Uninsured bodily injury/underinsured bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
Drivers who must file an SR-22 can meet Illinois minimum insurance requirements by purchasing a liability policy with uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Keep in mind liability and uninsured bodily injury/underinsured bodily injury insurance are the minimum coverages required by law, but there are other types of coverages and higher limits available for purchase, and it’s recommended you do so!
Who needs an SR-22?
You may be required to file an
SR-22 in Illinoisto get your driving privileges back after a license suspension if you’ve been convicted of certain traffic offenses.
If your driving record contains any of the following mandatory insurance violations, you may need an SR-22 in Illinois:
The Illinois Secretary of State will notify you if you need to obtain SR-22 insurance, which you must do within 90 days of the notice.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
How to get non-owner SR-22 insurance in Illinois
If you don’t have a car but have an SR-22 filing requirement, purchasing a
non-owner car insurancepolicy is your best option. This policy offers liability-only coverage for drivers who don’t own or have regular access to vehicles they drive.
While most insurance providers sell non-owner policies, they aren’t all authorized to write SR-22 policies in Illinois and have the power of attorney to file for the state. Some companies that may offer non-owner SR-22 insurance in Illinois include
Progressive, United Auto Insurance,
Here’s what you’ll need to do to get a non-owner SR-22 policy:
- Contact local insurance agencies and find out if they write SR-22 policies in Illinois and have the power of attorney to file for the state.
- Get three to five quotes before purchasing a policy. Regardless of your driving record,comparing car insurance quotesis the best way to find affordable coverage.
Once you’ve purchased a non-owner SR-22 insurance policy, your insurer will submit the SR-22 certificate from their office to the Illinois Secretary of State’s office on your behalf. You’ll receive a copy of the filing and letter acknowledging the receipt of the SR-22 from the Secretary of State’s office within 30 days of submission.
You’ll need to maintain your non-owner insurance policy for three years which is the SR-22 filing requirement length in Illinois. If you don’t renew your policy at least 45 days in advance or within 15 days of its expiration date, your insurer will notify the Illinois Secretary of State’s office and your license will be suspended until you reinstate your insurance. The same goes if you cancel your insurance policy.
Once the three-year SR-22 filing requirement period is over, don’t let your insurance expire unless you plan on not driving again. Driving without insurance coverage could land you right back where you started!
Is the Jerry app legit?
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me toJerryand their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Can anyone get an SR-22 in Illinois?
Only drivers with serious violations on their driving record, safety responsibility suspensions, unsatisfied judgment suspensions, revocations, or mandatory insurance supervision are required to file SR-22 certificates in Illinois.
How long does an SR-22 last in Illinois?
Illinois’ SR-22 filing requirement lasts for three consecutive years. If your insurance expires within that timeframe, your license will be suspended until your insurance is reinstated.