New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
New Hampshire is the only state that does not legally require drivers to have auto insurance, though you may need it if you’ve been convicted of certain driving offenses.
Even if it’s not a legal requirement, purchasing car insurance coverage is a smart move. Costs add up quickly after an accident—even a minor one. Without the protection of car insurance, you’ll be on the hook for those costs out of pocket.
Car insurance comparison app and licensed broker Jerry makes finding cheap coverage easy. Jerry gathers quotes from 40+ providers and then takes care of all the calls and paperwork for your top pick. Why do all the hard work when Jerry can do it better (and faster!)?
Here’s all you need to know about New Hampshire car insurance laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

When is car insurance required in New Hampshire?

Car insurance is not required in New Hampshire, unless you are convicted of one or more of the following:
  • Hit and run
  • DUI (drugs or alcohol)
  • Intentionally killing or hurting someone with your car
  • Second speeding ticket
  • Second warning or ticket for another traffic violation

Car insurance requirements in New Hampshire

If you’re convicted of one or more of the above and do need to purchase car insurance in New Hampshire, you must have at least the following:
Minimum liability coverage: 25/50/25Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverageMedical payments (MedPay)
$25,000 bodily injury per person$25,000 bodily injury per person$1,000 per person
$50,000 bodily injury per accident$50,000 bodily injury per accident
$25,000 property damage per accident

Liability coverage in New Hampshire

Liability coverage covers the medical expenses and property damage of others when you are at fault in an accident. This might include things like repairs for a damaged fender or another driver’s hospital bills.
Liability coverage does not cover your own medical expenses or property damage.
Liability coverage in New Hampshire follows a 25/50/25 pattern, meaning you must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in New Hampshire

Uninsured/underinsured covers your medical expenses if you’re in a collision with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have insurance.
In New Hampshire, your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage must include $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.

Medical payments (MedPay) in New Hampshire

Medical payments (MedPay) covers your medical expenses resulting from an auto collision, regardless of who is at fault. Your MedPay coverage may also be applied to another person in your household or another passenger in your vehicle.
Key Takeaway Car insurance is only mandatory in New Hampshire if you’ve been convicted of certain crimes or traffic violations. If you are required to have car insurance in New Hampshire, you must purchase liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage.

State-mandated car insurance limits

A car insurance “limit” is the maximum amount of coverage your provider will give you in a particular coverage category. A state-mandated car insurance limit is a legally required minimum that you must have with your insurance provider.
Car insurance is not required for most people in the state. But if you qualify as a driver who must have car insurance in New Hampshire (as outlined above), you must adhere to these state-mandated limits.

State-mandated liability limits in New Hampshire

Drivers requiring auto insurance in New Hampshire must have liability coverage that follows a 25/50/25 pattern:
  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person in an accident where you are at fault
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $50,000 in bodily injury coverage in total per accident in an accident where you are at fault
  • $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident in an accident where you are at fault

State-mandated uninsured/underinsured motorist limits in New Hampshire

The state-mandated limits for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in New Hampshire follow a 25/50 pattern:
  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person in an accident where the at-fault driver is not insured or lacks sufficient coverage
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident means that your insurance provider will contribute no more than $50,000 in bodily injury coverage in total per accident in an accident where the at-fault driver is not insured or lacks sufficient coverage

State-mandated MedPay limits in New Hampshire

The state-mandated limit of $1,000 for MedPay in New Hampshire means that your provider would contribute no more than $1,000 for your or a passenger’s medical expenses after an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
Key Takeaway The minimums for those who need insurance in New Hampshire are 25/50/25 liability coverage, 25/50 uninsured motorist protection, and $1,000 MedPay.

Do New Hampshire’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?

The simple answer? No. New Hampshire does not require all drivers to have car insurance and driving without any insurance is always a bad idea—and a huge financial risk.
Even if you choose to purchase insurance, New Hampshire’s minimum liability requirements are less than ideal.
New Hampshire is an at-fault state, which means that if you are at fault in an accident, you (and/or your insurer) are liable to cover damages and medical expenses for others and yourself.

Penalties for driving without insurance in New Hampshire

Because New Hampshire doesn’t mandate that drivers have auto insurance, there are no legal penalties for driving without insurance in New Hampshire.
Still, driving without insurance does have consequences. Getting into an at-fault collision without insurance can be detrimental, as you will be liable for all the expenses resulting from the accident. If you can’t afford the costs, you could end up in a bad financial situation.

Optional auto insurance coverage in New Hampshire

While all insurance coverage is optional for most people in New Hampshire, here are some policies that can complement the usual liability, uninsured motorist, and MedPay coverage:

Where to buy car insurance in New Hampshire

Whether or not you’re legally required to hold car insurance in New Hampshire isn’t the question. You should purchase insurance if you’re going to be driving in any regard. And lucky for you, Jerry is here to help.
Jerry is a cheap car insurance comparison app that helps you find the lowest rates on car insurance.
Jerry gathers your information (which takes all of 45 seconds) and compiles quotes from over 40 name-brand insurance providers for you to shop from. And once you make your pick, Jerry handles all the calls and paperwork and even cancels your old policy on your behalf.
The best part is that it’s completely free to use. The average Jerry customer saves $879 per year on their car insurance!
“Before I was introduced to this app I was paying $140/month for car insurance. I just got new quotes this morning and am now paying $50/month for FULL coverage!” —Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Can you drive without insurance in New Hampshire?

Yes, you can legally drive without car insurance in New Hampshire unless you’ve been convicted of any of the following:
  • Hit and run
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Intentionally killing or hurting someone with your car
  • A second speeding ticket
  • A second warning or ticket for another traffic violation
But it’s a really bad idea to drive without car insurance and the consequences can be catastrophic. You should never drive without car insurance—even if it is legally allowed.

Is New Hampshire a no-fault insurance state for car accidents?

New Hampshire is an at-fault state for car accidents, meaning that the at-fault driver and/or their insurer is financially liable for any damages or expenses resulting from a collision.
Make sure you have ample car insurance so that you’re covered if you ever cause a collision.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free