Montana Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum Requirements
- Liability coverage
- Is minimum enough?
- Optional coverage
- No insurance penalties
- Buying insurance
Montana law mandates that all drivers have liability coverage. Montana’s liability coverage requirements follow a 25/50/20 pattern—meaning that every driver must carry $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
The car insurance comparison app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Montana car insurance laws. Jerry will help you find the cheapest rates for your insurance policy, so you can have the coverage you need without dishing out unneeded cash.
In under 45 seconds, Jerry generates competitive quotes from up to 45 top providers. Once you make your pick, Jerry handles all of the paperwork and the phone calls.
That means you’re paying the best price for car insurance without having to put up with all the little parts you dread. The best part? The average Jerry driver saves $879 on car insurance a year!
Here’s all you need to know about car insurance requirements in Montana.
Car insurance requirements in Montana
All Montana drivers must have a minimum amount of liability insurance to drive legally:
|Minimum Liability Coverage|
|$25,000 in bodily injury per person|
|$50,000 in bodily injury per accident|
|$20,000 in property damage per accident|
Key Takeaway You must have liability coverage with $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident if you are driving in Montana.
Liability coverage in Montana
Montana follows a 25/50/20 pattern for required liability insurance. This means you must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident.
Liability coverage covers medical expenses and property damages for other drivers if you are at fault in an accident. Liability coverage does not cover your own medical expenses or property damage if you are at fault in an accident.
If you want coverage for your own medical expenses if you are at fault in an accident, you will need to purchase personal injury protection (PIP).
State-mandated car insurance limits
An insurance limit is the maximum amount of coverage your provider will give you in a particular coverage category.
If you purchase the minimum required limits for liability insurance in Montana, you will have no more than $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident.
Do Montana’s state-mandated car insurance limits provide enough coverage?
Montana’s state-mandated car insurance limits are minimal and could be quickly exhausted if you are in a serious collision. For instance, $20,000 in property damage coverage will only go so far if you cause a multiple-vehicle collision—or if you damage a luxury car.
You could also easily exhaust your $50,000 limit for bodily injury coverage per accident if you cause an accident that harms multiple people.
You can purchase higher limits for your liability insurance coverage. This will typically mean a slightly higher monthly premium for your insurance policy, but it could save you thousands of dollars in the long run.
Optional car insurance coverage in Montana
Since Montana law only requires liability coverage, you’ll probably want to purchase additional types of car insurance coverage:
- Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (e.g. vandalism).
- Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object.
- Medical payments coverage covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision.
- Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jump-starting a battery. The type of coverage will vary between policies and companies.
- Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if you are unable to drive your car.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Montana
Driving without insurance in Montana can result in several penalties, including fines, jail time, and driver’s license revocation. Driving without insurance in Montana is illegal. If you fail to provide proof of insurance for a law enforcement officer, you will face the following penalties:
|First offense||Second offense||Third or subsequent offense|
|Up to 10 days in jail||10 days in jail||Imprisonment for no more than 6 months|
|Fine between $250 and $500||Minimum $350 fine||$500 fine|
|Driver’s license revocation for 90 days|
|Addition of 5 points to your driving record|
Key Takeaway There are penalties for driving without insurance or proof of insurance in Montana, so make sure you meet the required minimums for coverage. It’s a good idea to purchase additional coverage since Montana’s insurance requirements are far from comprehensive.
Where to buy car insurance in Montana
Whether you are driving in Montana or another state, the car insurance comparison app Jerry is your best bet at finding the cheapest car insurance.
Jerry scans insurance policies from over 40 top insurance providers so that you don’t have to do the work of comparison shopping yourself—why do it yourself when Jerry is quicker and better?
You get to simply browse through policies and then pick the policy that suits your needs and fits your budget. Buy your policy in-app—Jerry will do all the paperwork and phone calls for you, and even help you cancel your old policy when you decide to switch over.
Jerry will even automatically shop around for policy quotes every 6 months to make sure you are always getting the best rates possible.
The average Jerry customer saves nearly $900 a year after switching to Jerry—which is one of the many reasons Jerry has earned a 4.7/5 star rating in the app store and is the top insurance app in the country.
“Super easy to use and basically all the work is done for you. Jerry saved me over $150 a month on insurance—they will continue to check for the best plan every so often so I don’t have to think about it anymore. They also canceled my current policy so I didn’t have to worry about that either!” —Satisfied Jerry user
Does insurance follow the car or the driver in Montana?
Like most states, insurance follows the car—not the driver—in Montana. This means that you buy insurance for a particular vehicle, not necessarily a particular driver.
If your vehicle is insured and another driver borrows your car, they will be covered under your car insurance policy.
Is Montana a no-fault insurance state?
No. Montana is an at-fault car insurance state. This means that at-fault drivers are held liable for medical expenses and property damage to other drivers in a collision. As such, all Montana drivers must have liability insurance, which covers you when you are at fault in an accident.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually