Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- Minimum requirements
- At-fault state
- No insurance penalties
- No Pay, No Play
- Optional coverage
- Buying car insurance
Load full table of contents
All Louisiana drivers must have car insurance. Louisiana mandated insurance limits are 15/30/25 for liability coverage, meaning that drivers must have coverage for $15,000 in bodily injury per person, $30,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in property damage per accident.
Driving without insurance could result in various legal penalties, such as fines or a license suspension.
Use the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry to make sure that you have adequate car insurance in Louisiana. Since Jerry helps you find the lowest car insurance rates, you can also purchase that extra coverage you’ve been putting off.
Louisiana car insurance requirements
Louisiana drivers are required to have car insurance and to carry proof of insurance while driving. Louisiana drivers also must show proof of insurance in order to obtain a driver’s license.
Louisiana only mandates that drivers have liability coverage, which includes bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage.
Louisiana liability insurance law
Louisiana’s state-mandated car insurance limits for liability coverage are often referred to as 15/30/25 and are outlined below:
- $15,000 in bodily injury per person
- $30,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
It’s also a good idea to purchase higher liability limits if you are driving in Louisiana. For instance, $30,000 in bodily injury coverage won’t go very far if multiple people are seriously harmed in an accident for which you are at fault.
Liability coverage does not cover your medical bills or property damage to your vehicle if you are at fault in a collision. It’s a good idea to purchase additional coverage to cover these sorts of expenses—such as personal injury protection (PIP).
You may also want to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which is required in many states. This type of coverage covers you if you are the victim of an accident where the at-fault driver doesn’t have adequate insurance coverage.
Key Takeaway Only liability coverage is required in Louisiana, and you’ll probably want to purchase higher limits than the 15/30/25 that are state-mandated.
Louisiana is an at-fault state
Louisiana is an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault driver’s insurance provider covers the medical and property damage expenses of the other drivers involved in a collision.
The at-fault driver can also be sued for additional expenses that their insurance policy won’t cover.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Louisiana
There are multiple penalties for driving without insurance in Louisiana:
- Fine of $500 to $1,000
- License suspension
- Vehicle impoundment
- Registration revocation
- License plate(s) cancellation
Louisiana's "No Pay, No Play" law
Louisiana also has a "No Pay, No Play" law. The "No Pay, No Play" law means that if you are driving without insurance, you may be ineligible to collect insurance pay-outs for an accident where you are not at fault. This law can prevent uninsured drivers from receiving payments from other drivers' liability insurance, namely:
- The first $25,000 in property damages, and
- The first $15,000 in personal injuries.
Remember, if you are driving without insurance and are at fault in an accident, you will be held personally liable to cover all the expenses for the other drivers. Make sure that you have adequate car insurance if you are driving in Louisiana.
Key Takeaway There are various penalties for driving without insurance in Louisiana, and it’s in your best interest to get additional coverage beyond what is legally required in Louisiana.
Optional coverage in Louisiana
If you want adequate financial protection in Louisiana, there are additional forms of car insurance coverage that you can purchase.
- Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (e.g. vandalism).
- Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object.
- Medical payments coverage covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision.
- Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jump-starting a battery. The type of coverage will vary between policies and companies.
- Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if you are unable to drive your car.
Where to buy car insurance in Louisiana
If you are a Louisiana driver and are now looking to buy car insurance, look no further than Jerry. Jerry is a car insurance comparison and broker app dedicated to making car insurance shopping quick, easy, and affordable.
All you have to do is spend less than a minute inputting your personal information, then Jerry will bring you insurance quotes from over 40 name-brand insurance providers. When all your quotes are in one place, you can easily find the cheapest rates.
And, since Jerry is a broker, you get to do all your purchasing in-app, without being redirected to outside company websites.
Jerry helps you with all the paperwork for purchasing your insurance policy—and automatically shops around every 6 months to make sure you are getting the lowest rates possible!
If you already have car insurance, Jerry can still help you! With Jerry, you can verify that you are getting the lowest rates possible for your auto insurance—and, if you find a better policy with lower rates, Jerry helps you make the switch (we even help you do all the paperwork for canceling your old policy!).
Don’t worry—Jerry is always 100% free to use. It’s no shocker that our customers are so excited about Jerry:
"This app helped me switch my car insurance over in less than a day! It was very easy to understand and use. Once you have chosen a new plan and cancelled your old policy (which you can do on the app) you’ll automatically get your insurance information in the app. I am happy to say that I made a great choice!"—Satisfied Jerry customer
Is it illegal to not have car insurance in Louisiana?
Yes. All drivers in Louisiana must have liability coverage, but, you should consider purchasing additional coverage.
What car insurance is legally required in Louisiana?
All Louisiana drivers must have liability coverage, which includes bodily injury coverage and property damage coverage. Liability coverage only covers other drivers and their expenses for an accident where you are at fault.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually