What is an FS-1 Form?
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
An FS-1 form is a certificate that proves to the state of North Carolina that you have car insurance coverage.
If you’ve been asked to provide an FS-1, you can talk to your insurance provider to get one. But before you do that, you’ll need to ensure that you’ve purchased the required minimum car insurance coverage for your state.
There’s no better way to find good insurance coverage than through car insurance comparison app Jerry. It takes just 45 seconds to sign up and get dozens of competitive quotes from the top insurance companies in the country. And since Jerry takes care of all the paperwork and phone calls, you’ll get great savings without any hassle.
If you’re wondering about FS-1 form requirements, read on to learn more.
What is an FS 1 form?
The FS-1 is a form used in North Carolina to prove that you have the minimum liability insurance coverage you need to comply with state law. It’s similar to the SR22 form, which other states require as proof of insurance.
The minimum insurance coverage requirements in North Carolina are often written as 30/60/25. This means you must have at least:
- $30,000 of bodily injury liability for one person
- $60,000 of bodily injury liability for two or more people
- $25,000 of property damage liability
What state uses FS-1 forms?
The FS-1 form is used in North Carolina—and only in North Carolina.
Most states use a similar document called the SR-22 form. Both prove to the DMV that you have purchased the minimum amount of car insurance required by the state.
What is acceptable proof of insurance?
North Carolina accepts either an FS-1 or self-certification to provide proof of insurance.
- The FS-1 is a certificate of insurance that you can get through an insurance company licensed in North Carolina
- Self-certification involves providing your insurance details, including the policy number and company
In situations like accidents, police stops, or interactions with your insurance provider, self-certification will suffice. But other situations may require you to get an FS-1 to prove your coverage.
Key Takeaway The FS-1 is a proof-of-insurance form used in North Carolina.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Why do I need an FS-1 form?
There are several reasons why you might need to get an FS-1 form from your insurance company to prove that you have coverage.
You’re registering or titling a car in North Carolina
North Carolina law requires you to provide a certificate of insurance, like an FS-1 form, to register or title any car. After purchasing a vehicle, you must register it so you can drive. You’ll also need to register your vehicle in North Carolina if you’ve moved from another state.
You need to provide proof of coverage to the state
Only an FS-1 form can provide official proof of insurance to the state. You may be asked to provide this proof if you have a license suspension resulting from an infraction like a DUI or if you’ve let your coverage lapse.
Your insurance policy was canceled, lapsed, or you’re switching providers
Your insurer is legally required to notify the DMV if your North Carolina car insurance is canceled or lapses. The authorities will then be able to track you—and you could face penalties as a result.
The FS-1 will prove to the state that you have the insurance coverage that is legally required.
Key Takeaway If you’re registering a vehicle in North Carolina, having your license reinstated after a suspension, or you let your policy lapse, you may need an FS 1 form.
How do I submit my FS-1?
The easiest way is to ask your car insurance company to submit your FS-1 form to the DMV electronically. Alternatively, you can obtain your FS-1 from your insurer and fax it to the DMV yourself.
How to find car insurance coverage fast
If you’ve been asked to provide an FS-1, you might need to find cheap car insurance coverage fast. Letting your coverage lapse for as little as a week could increase your car insurance rates by about $130 a year—and the longer it’s lapsed, the more you’ll pay.
For fast, affordable quotes, get Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, Jerry gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you. No long forms, no calling around, no hard work—just savings.
The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance!
“This app is fantastic! I knew I was overpaying for my insurance, so I decided to give Jerry a try. I was given final quotes within minutes - and they were significantly cheaper! To make a short story short, Jerry got me the new insurance and sent a cancelation letter to my previous provider within 10 minutes. All I had to do was wait for my new provider to email me the details. I would recommend this app to anyone! Thanks, Jerry!” —Satisfied Jerry customer
Frequently asked questions
Do I need to have an FS-1 if I don’t live in North Carolina?
No, but you might be asked to provide a similar form called SR-22, which serves as a certificate of insurance in other states.
How do I prove my liability coverage?
If you live in North Carolina, you can use an FS-1 or self-certification to prove your liability insurance coverage. In some situations, you may only be able to use an FS-1.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually