Alaska DUI Laws

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
Alaska DUI laws state that anyone who is driving with a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above can be charged with an OUI, or operating under the influence. This applies to motor vehicles, watercraft, and aircraft. You can even be charged when the vehicle is not moving.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of intoxicants like alcohol and drugs is a dangerous crime. Penalties vary by state, but even a first-time offense could cost the driver up to $10,000 in legal fees and fines. Plus, a DUI can trigger a huge increase in your
Alaska car insurance costs
rates.
Jerry
the
car insurance
comparison and broker app
has compiled everything you need to know about the DUI laws in Alaska.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI?

DUI is an acronym that stands for driving under the influence, whereas DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired. The state will determine the difference.
Some states—like Alaska—use different terms to mean the same thing, like OUI (operating under the influence) or OWI (operating while intoxicated). It is a misdemeanor in Alaska.
A driver can be charged with an OUI for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and this includes legal drugs like prescriptions and over-the-counter drugs. If you become impaired as a result of taking a substance and then get behind the wheel, you can be charged with a DUI.

DUI in Alaska

In Alaska, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of:
  • 0.08% or higher
  • 0.04% if you’re driving a commercial vehicle
These requirements apply to motor vehicles, boats, aircraft, and recreational vehicles.
Key Takeaway There is zero tolerance for minors driving under the influence. People under the age of 21 may not carry alcohol inside a vehicle unless a parent is present and the container is unopened, full, and sealed.
Each state has an implied consent law which says that you consent to be tested if an officer suspects you of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you are lawfully arrested for an OUI, you are required to submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. Alaska drivers who refuse to be tested can be penalized with lengthy license suspensions or even revocation of their license.
You do not have the right to consult with legal counsel before taking the test.

Penalties for DUI in Alaska

Penalties for DUIs are strict and the conviction will remain on your driving record for life.

First conviction

For an OUI/DWI in Alaska, here are the penalties for a first conviction:
Penalty
Description
Fine
$1,500 minimum
Jail
Minimum 72 consecutive hours
License suspension
90 days
Ignition interlock device
Yes
Vehicle impoundment
No
SR-22 requirement
Yes
You may be prohibited from purchasing alcohol for a duration determined by the court.
The state may require that you complete an alcohol/drug treatment program. The length of the program will depend on the severity of your conviction.
You must also install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 12 months upon license restoration. This device will prevent you from starting the car if there is any alcohol on your breath.

Subsequent convictions

Penalty
Description
Fine
Up to $10,000
Jail
Up to 240 days
License suspension
1 to 5 years
Ignition interlock device
Up to 36 months
Vehicle impoundment
Yes
SR-22 requirement
Yes
If you are convicted of a DUI again, you will be subject to increased penalties. These could include serious fines (up to $10,000), up to 240 days in prison, an ignition interlock device, permanent license revocation, and even forfeiture of your vehicle.
After the suspension period, it may be possible for you to obtain a limited license that permits you to drive when necessary (i.e., to work) if you agree to:
  • Complete the prescribed DUI program
  • Install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
  • Only drive vehicles that have an ignition interlock device
  • Pay the reissue and restriction fees to the state
Key Takeaway Minimum penalties are usually increased if you had a very high blood alcohol concentration or if you were involved in an accident where someone was injured—even for a first conviction.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Alaska?

Yes, a DUI classifies you as a
high-risk driver
and insurance companies pay very close attention to DUI convictions.
It can be a challenge to find insurance with a DUI on your record. A good strategy is to shop around with multiple providers.
The
Jerry
app compares rates from up to 50 top insurance companies. The whole process takes 60 seconds and you don’t have to deal with lengthy forms or salespeople.
With a DUI on your record, expect substantially higher rates than your previous payment. Alaska drivers with a DUI are required to find an insurance company that can file an
SR-22
on their behalf. This confirms that they have state-mandated minimum insurance.

Other effects of a DUI

Higher insurance rates and penalties are not the only negative consequences of a DUI conviction. You could also face these additional consequences:
License revocation: Your license may be revoked if you were charged with another serious offense.
Ignition interlock device: Every state has a version of the ignition interlock program, which requires drivers with a DUI conviction to install this device in their vehicle. It will disable your engine if any alcohol is detected on your breath.
Background checks: Employers who do a background check on you will see your DUI. This means that a conviction could jeopardize your job prospects.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

If you’re hesitant to
switch plans or insurance providers
because you’re worried about the work involved, don’t be.
Jerry
does all the paperwork for you and even helps cancel your old policy!
And if you have any questions along the way, just text one of our agents through the
trustworthy super app
. They will always be there to assist you.
"
Jerry
brought my insurance deductible down from $2.5k to $1k without me having to switch companies. I even had a ticket on my record. If it can help me, Jerry will definitely help you save money." —Maxwell N.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free