Selling a Car in South Carolina

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
When selling a car in South Carolina, you’ll need to sign your title over to the new owner, report the ownership transfer to the DMV, and pay any requisite fees.
You may be wondering if selling a car privately will be time-consuming and complicated, but it's rather simple once you understand the steps to take. 
Each state has its own set of regulations and laws for ensuring legal ownership transfer, and if you don't follow them, you could be held liable for the car even after it has left your possession.
Luckily, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is here to break down everything you need to know about selling a car in South Carolina. 

What you need to sell a car in South Carolina

If you’re looking to sell your car privately in South Carolina, you must sign the title over to the buyer and notify your DMV. 
When you sell the vehicle, complete a state Notice of Vehicle Sold (SCDMV Form 416) form and mail it to the appropriate location.
Keep in mind that completing this form does not show a legal transfer of ownership (it’s not a substitute for a proper title transfer). This form just ensures that the last registered owner is financially protected until the new buyer completes the transfer of ownership.

Additional fees

Since 2017, private party vehicle transactions in South Carolina are subject to an Infrastructure Maintenance Fee (IMF) in place of a sales tax. The IMF is 5% of the sales price or up to a $500 maximum.
There are exceptions if the vehicle was:
  • Sold between family members: from grandparents to grandchildren, between cousins, etc.
  • Inherited or bequeathed
  • A gift or donation
  • Purchased by someone in active duty in the military  
Remember to pay any requested titling and registration fees during the sale process, too. 

Getting a pre-sale inspection

South Carolina does not require drivers to obtain a smog certificate or an emissions test for their vehicles before selling them.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Documenting the sale

Normally, you’ll need to list the sales price and odometer reading on the back of your title. If you can’t list these here, you’ll need to complete a South Carolina bill of sale
In this case, the bill of sale should have the following information:
  • Year, make and model of the vehicle
  • Vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • Date of sale
  • Sale price
  • Odometer reading on the date of sale (if applicable)
  • Printed legal name and address of the seller and buyer
  • Signature of the seller and buyer
You can find all the necessary documents on the South Carolina DMV website.

Signing the title over

If you have a clear title in hand, the seller will sign the title and hand it over to the buyer, including the following on the back of the title:
  • Odometer reading on the date of sale (if applicable)
  • Purchase date
  • Sale price
If the person who has purchased the vehicle from you is making payments on it, you must complete Section F of the Title Application Form (SCDMV Form 400). The buyer fills out this section initially, and the seller should complete it. 
In this case, you’ll be considered the lienholder for the car, and a new title will be mailed to both of you.
Once the buyer has paid the loan in full, you can sign off on the lien and the buyer will receive a clean title.

Reporting the sale

When reporting the sale, you’ll have to complete a Notice of Vehicle Sold (SCDMV Form 416) form and submit it to your DMV.

Finding affordable car insurance 

Once you’ve finished selling your vehicle, make sure you get the right car insurance for your new vehicle.  
If you want to save money on a car insurance policy, just use Jerry! As a licensed broker, Jerry gathers competitive quotes from 50+ top insurers and delivers the best results straight to your phone. 
When you find a rate you like, Jerry will even help you cancel your old policy!
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

FAQs

Resources such as Edmunds and Kelley Blue Book can help you figure out what your car is worth so you can determine a fair price based on its make, model, year, and condition.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free