Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What you need to sell a car in North Carolina
- Getting a pre-sale inspection
- Documenting the sale
- Signing the title over
- Reporting the sale
- Finding affordable car insurance
- FAQs about selling a car
Load full table of contents
Selling a car in North Carolina requires the completion of a signed title and sometimes a bill of sale, both of which must be notarized. Your car will also have to pass an emissions inspection in 22 counties.
The process for selling a car can seem daunting, but it’s a fairly simple process once you understand what’s required. Each state sets its own policies, so it’s important to do some research beforehand.
If you are not compliant with your state’s laws, you could be liable for the vehicle—even after it’s out of your possession.
To make things easier, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled what you need to know about selling a car in North Carolina.
What you need to sell a car in North Carolina
To sell a car in North Carolina, you’ll be required to complete:
- North Carolina Certificate of Title (or, if you don’t have one, a duplicate title form)
- Signatures of the seller, buyer, and lienholder (if applicable), signed in the presence of a notary
- Bill of sale signed in the presence of a notary
- Proofs of ownership or transfer of ownership
- Odometer certification statement, unless the vehicle is more than 10 years old
- Damage disclosure statement for cars 5 years old or newer
- Emissions testing
If there is a lien on the vehicle, you will need to obtain a lien release from your lender once you have completed the terms of the lien. You cannot sell a car with an outstanding lien in North Carolina.
Getting a pre-sale inspection
Twenty-two counties in North Carolina require cars to pass an emissions inspection before they can be sold. This applies to most vehicles, but there are some exemptions, including:
- Cars less than three years old
- Cars from model year 1995 or older
- Diesel-operated cars
Additionally, most cars are required to pass an annual safety inspection, but cars 35 years or older are exempt.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Documenting the sale
Once you have identified a buyer, it’s a good idea to complete a bill of sale. Though this is only required if you are selling your car to a dealership, it’s strongly recommended that you complete a bill of sale for your records regardless. The bill of sale should include:
- Vehicle registration number
- Make, model, and year of the car
- North Carolina Title number
- Vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Odometer reading at the time of sale
- Sale date and price
- Name and signature of the seller
- Name and signature of the buyer
If you are selling a car to a dealership, the dealer will provide you with a bill of sale. This will need to be signed in front of a public notary.
Signing the title over
To officially transfer ownership of the car, you need to sign the title over to the buyer at a North Carolina DMV.
The seller will need to fill out the back of the title, with their name, address, and date of sale. The seller also will have to complete odometer disclosure and damage disclosure documents if required.
If the title has been lost or stolen, the seller will need to fill out a stolen title application to replace the document.
Once the seller has completed their portion, the buyer will also have to sign the title with their information and complete a Title Application Form (MVR-1). Both the title and application form will need to be notarized.
Reporting the sale
To report the sale of a car in North Carolina, the seller needs to fill out this form in the presence of a notary and turn it in at the DMV.
Finding affordable car insurance
If you’ve recently purchased a car, you’re going to need the right car insurance policy. The car insurance broker app Jerry compares quotes from over 50 top providers so you can choose a policy that works for you.
The best part? Jerry users save an average of $879 a year on car insurance!
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With Jerry, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually