What happens if I'm caught for a second time without a license in Texas?

I've never bothered to get a license because I drive so infrequently and only on rural roads. I was stopped once for speeding and had to pay a fine in addition to the ticket. It seems unlikely that I would get stopped again, but what would happen if I did?

Answer
“Driving without a license in the state of Texas is illegal and if you’re caught driving for a second time within a year, the charge becomes a misdemeanor with an additional fine that can range between $25 and $200.
If you’re found in violation of the law for a third time within a year, you can expect a third fine and jail time ranging anywhere from 72 hours up to six months.
It should be emphasized that if get into an accident while driving without a license, the penalties could be even more steep and costly. If you’re driving someone else’s car on their car insurance, their rates could be affected by your driving.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free