Iowa Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you receive an Iowa speeding ticket, you have to pay the fine within 60 days of the deadline or risk losing your license. You also have the option to contest the ticket in court. 
The state of Iowa deems speeding to be a simple misdemeanor. That said, being issued a speeding ticket can result in a fine. Depending on the severity of your violation, your insurance rate could spike. 
Every state treats speeding differently. Drivers should understand the rules of the road for the state they live in—especially before trying to contest a speeding ticket in court. 
Car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has created this handy guide covering everything you need to know about speeding tickets in Iowa. You’ll learn how to pay your speeding ticket, how to avoid losing points on your record, and what actions to take if you can’t afford to pay. 
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Iowa?

If you want to pay your Iowa speeding ticket, you have to plead guilty or no contest. Pleading guilty is admitting that you committed the offense and that the ticket was rightly issued. Pleading no contest means that you do not have a convincing case and are going to pay the fine. 
If you plead either guilty or no contest, it’s important to understand the following:
  • You will have to pay for your ticket by mail or online
  • Points may be incurred on your IA driving record
  • The Iowa Department of Transportation has the right to revoke, suspend, or bar your driver’s license—this depends on your driving record and the violation you committed
  • The Department of Transportation or a judge might order you to attend driver improvement school
  • Your car insurance rates might go up

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Iowa?

This table outlines the various fines drivers could receive for different speeding tickets.
TicketFine
1 - 5 mph over speed limit$20
5 mph but less than 10 mph$40
10 mph but less than 15 mph$80
15 mph but less than 20 mph$90
For each mile per hour in excess of 20 mph$100 plus $5 for each mile per hour
Speeding violations that occur in school zones typically come with a $100 fine. Keep in mind, a driver who's pulled over for going more than 10 mph above the speed limit in a school zone could face stiffer penalties, including up to 30 days in jail and/or fines ranging from $65 to $625.

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Iowa

After you’ve received a speeding ticket, you will have a few options:
  • Plead guilty or no contest and pay the fine while incurring a potential rate increase to your car insurance
  • Be ordered to register for driver improvement school or voluntarily attend
  • Fight your ticket in court by requesting a trial and then appear in court
Whatever method you choose, remember that you have 15 days to respond to your ticket or you could have your license suspended or have to pay additional fines.

How to pay a speeding ticket in Iowa

If you want to pay your speeding ticket, you can do so online, by phone, by mail, or in person.

Online

Most people simply pay their fine online using Iowa’s online system. You will have to enter the required information and will only be able to use the accepted payment methods.

Phone

If you don’t have internet access or are not comfortable paying that way, you can call 515-348-4788 and someone will process your payment.

Mail or in person

To pay by mail or in person, you need to check your ticket for instructions or contact the relevant Iowa traffic court. Many courts do offer these options, but you should confirm soon after being issued the ticket. 

How to fight a speeding ticket in Iowa

If you opt not to pay the fine, you can request either a mitigation hearing or a contested hearing. This must be entered before the ticket’s due date. 

Requesting a mitigation hearing

If you request a mitigation hearing, your goal is likely to have your fine reduced. Mitigation hearings often result in these alternatives to paying the fine in full by the deadline:
  • A reduced fine
  • A monthly payment plan
  • Community service in lieu of payment
You cannot appeal the decision of the mitigation for any reason. To request a mitigation hearing, follow the instructions on your traffic ticket.

Requesting a contested hearing

If you can request a contested hearing, check the appropriate box on your ticket and then mail or deliver it to the relevant court noted on your speeding ticket. 

What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket?

If you can’t afford to pay your fine, Iowa does not grant extensions. They can create payment plans for those who can afford to pay for their speeding ticket in small chunks over time. 
Contact the clerk at the relevant court office (usually where the violation occurred) to discuss possible payment plans.

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance? 

Your car insurance premiums in Iowa can increase after being found guilty or pleading guilty or no contest for speeding. Depending on your demographics, your premium may increase 17% to 20% annually
 “Jerry was easy to use, and they saved me a lot of money on my truck. I would definitely recommend them.” —Johannes T.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

It’s possible to lose your license for speeding in Iowa. It depends on the severity of the violation. For instance, driving infractions in construction or school zones could result in a driver losing their license even if they don’t fight the ticket.
The safe bet is to just pay for your speeding ticket. However, if you have strong evidence or can afford a lawyer, you can consider fighting your ticket. Winning your case can prevent your premiums from increasing or incurring points on your driving record. 
If you pay your fine, you can still inquire about attending driver improvement school to get the points dismissed.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free