Car Seat Laws in Georgia
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What is it?
- Driving record
- Insurance implications
- Cheap insurance
Georgia law requires children under the age of eight to use a car seat or booster that fits their height and weight. Additionally, children under the age of eight must ride in the backseat.
Breaking Georgia’s car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Georgia’s car seat laws.
What is the car seat law in Georgia?
To ride as a passenger in Georgia, kids are required to use restraint systems that are appropriate to their height and weight. The best way to determine this is to check the car seat manufacturer’s instructions.
For instance, rear-facing car seats are recommended for children under the age of two and they must be installed in the backseat.
Georgia’s laws require that all children under the age of eight must ride in the back seat. The law recommends that kids under 12 ride in the back seat “whenever possible.”
Experts recommend the continued use of booster seats until a child can comfortably fit into the adult-size seat belts.
Key Takeaway Children in Georgia need to use a restraint system that is appropriate for their height and weight. Children under the age of either need to ride in the backseat.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Georgia?
If you are caught breaking the Georgia car seat law, you’ll be penalized with a fine of up to $50 and one point will be added to your driving record. Repeat offenses could double the fine and points, or even result in license suspension.
Key Takeaway You will receive a fine and one point on your record if you break the car seat law in Georgia.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
Yes, in Georgia, breaking the car seat law results in a point on your driving record.
If you break the law twice, you’ll receive two more points. These points stay on your record for two years in Georgia.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Georgia
Because points on your record are an indication of risk, breaking the car seat laws in Georgia could impact your car insurance. More points mean more risk, which means higher insurance premiums.
Insurance companies could raise your prices if they see a change in your driving record. This is an even bigger concern for drivers who already have an imperfect record.
Finding cheap car insurance
If you’re shopping for car insurance, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassle.
Looking for cheap insurance in Georgia? Look no further, because we’ve got you covered.
“Extremely grateful to Jerry. I can’t believe how convenient this process has been.” - Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually