North Dakota DUI Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What is a DUI and DWI?
- DUI in North Dakota
- Penalties for DUI in North Dakota
- Does a DUI impact car insurance in North Dakota?
- Other effects of a DUI
- How to find cheap insurance after a DUI
North Dakota DUI laws state that drivers over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. This is reduced to 0.04% for commercial drivers and 0.02% for minor drivers.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your car insurance rates, too.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in North Dakota.
What is a DUI and DWI?
A DUI refers to driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired.
It’s up to each state to determine the difference between the two. North Dakota uses the term DUI in reference to anyone driving with alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two in their system.
Intoxicated persons only have to be in physical control of a vehicle — it does not have to be in motion or running. That means you can be charged with a DUI even if you aren’t conscious.
MORE: DUI vs. DWI
DUI in North Dakota
In North Dakota, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of:
- 0.08% or higher for drivers 21 or older
- 0.04% for commercial vehicle drivers
- 0.02% for minors
Key Takeaway If you’re found with a BAC above the legal limit, you will be charged with a per se DUI. This means that whether or not you’re actually impaired by the alcohol is moot.
Implied consent law
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you’re lawfully arrested for a DUI, you must submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. You do not have a right to consult with a lawyer before completing the test.
Penalties for DUI in North Dakota
DUIs are treated as misdemeanors if they:
- Are a first, second or, third offense; and
- Do not result in serious injury or death; and
- Do not involve underage passengers.
|Fine||$500 to $1,500|
|Jail||Up to 30 days|
|License suspension||91 to 180 days|
|Jail||10 to 30 days|
|License suspension||1 year minimum|
|Fine||$2,000 to $3,000|
|Jail||120 to 360 days|
|License suspension||1 year minimum|
Misdemeanor offenders are also required to complete an addiction treatment program and may be sentenced to community service.
DUIs are felonies when they:
- Are a fourth offense; or
- Involve minor passengers; or
- Result in serious injury or death.
There are different penalties for each.
|Fourth offense (occurs within 15 days of the third offense)||At least 366 days in jail + minimum fine of $2,000|
|Serious injury||Class C felony with minimum 1 to 5 years in jail (2 if previous DUI) + maximum fine of $10,000|
|Death||Class A felony with minimum 3 to 20 years in jail (10 if previous DUI) + maximum fine of $20,000|
|Minor passengers||Class C felony with maximum 5 years in jail + maximum fine of $10,000|
Key Takeaway North Dakota DUI penalties are more severe if the incident results in injury, death, or endangerment to minors.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Does a DUI impact car insurance in North Dakota?
Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver.
With a DUI on your record, you can expect that insurance carriers will charge you significantly higher rates or may refuse to insure you entirely. That’s where Jerry can help. Jerry gathers your info and presents you with the best rates from up to 50 top providers so that you don’t have to spend time reaching out to each company.
Your insurance carrier will also be required to fill out an SR-22 to prove you have the state-mandated minimum insurance coverage.
Other effects of a DUI
Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIs can have some other lasting impacts on your life.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked if you’re charged with other serious offenses.
Ignition interlock device: All states have some type of ignition interlock program requiring drivers convicted of a DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: Your DUI will show up on a background check indefinitely, which can cause issues for future employment endeavors.
How to find cheap insurance after a DUI
Finding affordable insurance after a DUI conviction can be difficult on your own. No matter what your record looks like, Jerry can help. Once you choose a policy, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
When your policy is up for renewal, Jerry is still on the job and will send you new quotes so you’re always getting the best price.
“I’ve gotten pulled over a few times in the past. With Jerry, the police never had an issue verifying my insurance. The app is convenient, easy, and cheap!” —Dalton T.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually