Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What you need to sell a car in CT
- Getting a pre-sale inspection
- Documenting the sale
- Signing the title over
- Reporting the sale
- Cheap car insurance
Load full table of contents
To sell a car in Connecticut, you’ll need to complete and sign the reverse side of the Certificate of Title and give it to the buyer along with a bill of sale. Once the transaction is complete, remove the license plates and cancel your registration with the DMV before canceling your liability insurance.
Preparing to sell your car privately can feel intimidating, but it’s the best way to get a good price for a used vehicle. The most important part of conducting a private sale is understanding the rules for selling a car in your state. Every state has its own regulations, but the process is generally simple.
To get you started, car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has created a guide to selling your car in Connecticut from start to finish.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What you need to sell a car in Connecticut
Start by gathering some basic paperwork. The two essential documents you’ll need to sell your car in Connecticut are a Certificate of Title and a Bill of Sale.
If you don’t have your original Connecticut Certificate of Title and are selling a car less than 20 model years old to a buyer outside of Connecticut, you’ll need to apply for a replacement title (form H-6B). However, if you’re selling your car to someone who intends to register it within the state of Connecticut, you can sell the vehicle without a title by following these steps:
- Complete the Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (form H-6B).
- Include an Original Connecticut DMV Supplemental Assignment of Ownership Form (form Q1).
- If there was a lien on the original Connecticut Certificate of Title, include a lien release letter on the lender’s letterhead.
- If the date of the lien is more than 10 years ago and you can’t obtain a lien release letter, complete a Motor Vehicle Ownership Affidavit (form H-115) instead.
If your car is over 20 model years old, a title is not required to sell the vehicle. Simply fill out a Supplemental Assignment of Ownership Form (form Q1) to complete the transaction.
Getting a pre-sale inspection
For private sales, Connecticut law does not require any pre-sales inspection for safety or emissions. However, it’s a good idea to allow your buyer to bring your vehicle to a third party for an inspection if they choose.
Documenting the sale
Once you’ve settled on a price with your buyer, you’ll need to create a bill of sale to document the transaction. Connecticut provides a standard Bill of Sale (form H-31), but you’re not required to use it. If you do choose to draft your own bill of sale, make sure it has all the following information:
- Name and address of buyer
- Name and address of seller
- Description of the vehicle (make, model, year, and color)
- The vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Purchase price
- Date of sale
- Signatures of buyer and seller
Signing the title over
The bill of sale creates a record of your vehicle’s purchase, but the only way to legally transfer ownership of a vehicle is by completing and signing the reverse side of the title. You and your buyer will both need to sign the title to complete the transfer of ownership.
Keep a copy of the title certificate as well as the bill of sale for your records.
Reporting the sale
Once the sale is complete, you’ve got one last step—removing the license plates and canceling your registration with the DMV. You can cancel your plates online or by mail. Be sure to keep a record of your receipt number if you cancel online.
Canceling your registration is an important step. In Connecticut, your car will be subject to property tax assessment in the town where it was registered until you’ve canceled the plates. Contact your local tax assessor’s office with a copy of your registration cancellation receipt so that your tax bill can be adjusted.
Finally, you’ll need to wait until the registration is canceled before you cancel your liability insurance. Connecticut state law requires all drivers to maintain liability insurance as long as the registration is active, so don’t cancel early!
Finding affordable car insurance
Selling a car privately can be a nerve-wracking process—the last thing you need to worry about when handling all those forms and figures is shopping for a new car insurance policy. Jerry has you covered. With Jerry, all you need to do to find a great new rate on your car insurance is download the app!
Not only can Jerry connect you with competitive quotes from top companies as a licensed insurance broker, but they’ll also do all your paperwork and even help cancel your old policy once you’ve turned in your old plates. With intuitive functions and unbeatable savings, Jerry helps private sellers streamline the process of switching insurance during a vehicle sale.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever