Nebraska Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you receive a Nebraska speeding ticket, you have three options: pay the fine, fight it in court, or take a safety training class in order to get the citation dismissed.
If you’re not careful, it can be easy to keep pressing on the accelerator until you’re driving above the speed limit without even realizing it. Even if it’s an accident, however, speeding is a major safety concern for everyone on the road. 
That’s why, if you’re caught, the consequences can be far-reaching. Besides paying a fine, you will also have demerit points added to your driving record, and you will see a spike in your insurance rates.
The rules and procedures surrounding speeding tickets are different depending on where you live. To help you better understand the laws in your state, the car insurance comparison app Jerry has gathered all the information you need to know about speeding tickets in Nebraska.

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Nebraska?

If you are stopped for speeding, a law enforcement officer will ask to see your license and registration. Unless the officer chooses to let you off with a warning, you will receive a traffic ticket that notes your speed and the date of your required court appearance.
You will need to sign the ticket to prove you received it. Signing the ticket is not an admission of guilt, however. You can still contest the citation when you appear in court.

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Nebraska?

The base fine for a Nebraska speeding ticket is $10 for driving less than 5 mph over the speed limit. The price will increase depending on your speed and your location. Fines are doubled if you are caught speeding in a construction zone or a school crossing zone.
SpeedBase fineConstruction zone or school crossing zone fine
1 to 5 mph above speed limit$10$20
5 to 10 mph above speed limit$25$50
10 to 15 mph above speed limit$75$150
15 to 20 mph above speed limit$125$250
20 to 35 mph above speed limit$200$400
Over 35 mph above speed limit$300$600
Depending on the circumstances, you may have to pay additional court costs, online processing fees, or other fees.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Nebraska

If you receive a speeding ticket in Nebraska, here are your options:
  • Waive your right to a trial (if allowed), plead guilty, and pay the fine
  • Appear in court to contest the charge
  • Take a class through the Nebraska Safety Council’s Safety Training Option Program (STOP) (if allowed) before the court date and have the citation dismissed
For any of these options, you will need to act before the court date listed on your ticket.

How to pay a speeding ticket in Nebraska

You can pay the fine on your speeding ticket in one of three ways:
    • Plead guilty and waive your right to a trial
    • Enter your citation number, the county where the ticket was issued, and the citation date
    • Enter your personal information
    • Pay the fine via credit card, debit card, or eCheck
  • Send the signed ticket and your fee payment by mail to the address listed on your ticket
  • Pay in-person during your court appearance
After that, the speeding violation will appear on your Nebraska driving record and you will have up to four points added to your record.
Note that it may take more than one day for an online payment to show up in your court records and another day for it to be reported to the DMV. Therefore, it’s a good idea to pay your fine well before the deadline if you plan on paying online. If you miss the deadline, you could lose your license.

How to fight a speeding ticket in Nebraska

Appear in court

If you believe that you were issued a speeding ticket unfairly, you have the right to appear in court and contest the charge. You can bring evidence and witnesses forward, and you have the right to be represented by an attorney.

Safety Training Option Program (STOP)

Depending on the circumstances of your violation, you may have the option of attending a STOP class in lieu of paying a fine, going to court, and having points added to your driving record. 
In order to do this, you will need to email, fax, mail, or drop off the following documents to the Nebraska Safety Council no more than 10 working days after you receive the ticket:
  • A copy of your driver’s license
  • A copy of your ticket
  • A copy of the accident report (if there was one)
Certain drivers are not eligible for this program, including:
  • Drivers cited for speeding more than 20 mph over the speed limit 
  • Drivers who have taken any STOP class in the past three years
  • Drivers with more than one moving violation on the ticket
  • Commercial drivers

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?

In Nebraska, insurance rates go up by about 20% on average after a speeding ticket. Here’s how the price increase tends to affect Nebraska drivers:
Even if your rates increase after a ticket, all is not lost! You can still shop for more affordable car insurance using the Jerry app. Jerry compares quotes from over 50 top providers, signs you up for your new policy, and even helps you cancel your old one.
Jerry brought my insurance deductible down from $2.5k to $1k without me having to switch companies. I even had a ticket on my record. If it can help me, Jerry will definitely help you save money.” —Maxwell N.

FAQs

RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
If you choose not to fight your speeding ticket, you will need to pay the fine before the deadline in order to avoid losing your license.
You could also lose your license if you accrue 12 demerit points on your driving record in a span of two years. A speeding violation will add up to four points to your record, so you could lose your license if you already have at least eight points prior to the speeding incident.
If you have evidence and/or witnesses to back up your story, it may be worth it to fight the ticket and try to avoid the added driving record points and increased insurance rates. However, if you don’t think you can prove that the speeding ticket was unwarranted, it’s best to take a STOP class instead and get the points and fine both dismissed.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free