How to Replace a Lost Minnesota Driver’s License

You can replace your Minnesota driver’s license at any Driver’s License Office location for a $17 fee.
Written by Shannon Fitzgerald
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
background
You can replace your Minnesota driver’s license at any Driver’s License Office location for a $17 fee. While you can fill out a pre-application online to streamline the process, you will need to go in person with proof of identity to complete the duplicate license application.
It’s certainly nerve-wracking when you reach into your wallet and realize your license isn’t there. If it’s lost for good, your driving privileges are temporarily on hold—after all, trying to drive without one can result in serious fines, points on your record, and a jump in insurance costs. 
But whether you misplaced your Minnesota license or you believe it was stolen, all is not lost! Getting a replacement, or duplicate, license is a very straightforward process—and
car insurance
super app
Jerry
is here to walk you through it. While we're at it, we'll walk you through how to reduce your
Minnesota car insurance costs
. Let's get started! 
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

How to replace a lost driver’s license in Minnesota

It’s important to apply for a replacement license as soon as you notice it’s gone—it’s illegal to drive without a license, so you’ll want to get the process started in order to hit the road again. 
Luckily, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) and Driver Vehicle Services (DVS) makes it pretty easy.  

Reporting a stolen Minnesota license 

If your license was stolen, the Minnesota DPS recommends that you first file a police report as a protection against identity theft. 
They additionally recommend that you request DVS to flag your driving record as a secondary means of alerting police that someone else might be using your identity. You can do this by filling out and notarizing
form PS31300
, then filing it at your local DVS office. You may also submit the form by mail by sending it to the included address. 

Replacing a lost Minnesota license 

While you can begin a
pre-application
for a duplicate license online, you can only complete the process in Minnesota in person at your
nearest DVS office
Fortunately, DVS will use the driver’s license photo on file to verify your identity when you arrive. If they are unable to verify your identity this way—usually because you’ve had a name change since the last license application—you will need to bring the
standard identification documents
for a first-time license application.
This generally includes: 
  • One primary document with your full name and date of birth (eg, birth certificate or passport) 
  • One secondary document with your full name (eg. school ID, employee ID, Social Security card, etc.)
After DVS has fully processed your application, you will pay a $17 duplicate license fee. Though it can take up to six weeks for your official duplicate license to arrive in the mail, you will be issued a temporary license to use in the meantime. 
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

What if you lose your Minnesota license out of state?

If you happen to lose your
Minnesota driver's license
out of state, the license replacement process can be done by mail instead. 
You must first request an out-of-state replacement packet from DVS either by phone at (651) 297-3298 or by emailing
dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us
. Be sure to include your full name, date of birth, and your mailing address in your request. 
When you receive the packet, follow the instructions to complete the forms and be sure to answer all the questions. You will then need to: 
  • Sign and notarize the application (hold onto the yellow copy for your files) 
  • Enclose a $17 duplicate license fee via check or money order 
Once DVS has received your application, they will use the photo and signature on file to verify your identity. You can expect to receive your new license in the mail within six weeks. If you wish to expedite the process, you can do so for an additional $20 charge—your new license will usually arrive within two weeks in this case. 

How to save money on car insurance in Minnesota

Once you get your license back, you can relax and drive freely again. To help ease even more weight off your shoulders, let car insurance comparison app
Jerry
find you lower rates for your policy. 
The
trustworthy licensed broker app
is free to use and instantly cross-analyzes custom quotes from over 55 top insurance companies to track down the best prices for your coverage needs. Once you decide on a plan, simply select it through the app and Jerry’s team of expert brokers will handle the rest. 
The average user ends up saving $887 a year on car insurance so it’s worth the quick look to ensure you’re not overpaying your premiums! 
Jerry
blew my mind, honestly. From start to finish, using the app took me 10 minutes and I ended up with $100 of savings a month. Best of all, customer service answered all my questions about rental car reimbursement and roadside assistance.” —Savanna R.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings