The 10 Most Common Ways to Get a Suspended License in Vermont

From DUI convictions to driving with no insurance, these are the most common actions that can get your license suspended in Vermont.
Written by Sarah Gray
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
In Vermont, you could have your license suspended or revoked for a variety of reasons, including reckless driving or failure to pay child support. Driving with a suspended license is an offense on its own that can lead to steep fines, further suspensions, and even jail time.
Driving is a key part of most people’s daily lives, so it’s easy to take for granted. But there are quite a few ways to have this privilege taken away, so it’s important to know the laws regarding license suspension in your state.
That’s why the
car insurance
super app
Jerry
has researched the most common reasons for license suspension in Vermont and compiled them for you in this handy guide. As a bonus, we've even tossed in a tip about how to reduce your
Vermont car insurance costs
!
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

What’s the difference between a license suspension and revocation?

Having your
license suspended
and having it revoked are not the same thing. Here are the definitions of each term:
  • License suspension is the temporary loss of your driving privileges. If you follow the rules, your driving privileges will be reinstated
  • License revocation is the actual loss of your license. To have your driving privileges reinstated after a revocation, you have to reapply for licensing
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may suspend or revoke a driver’s license for several reasons, including
DUI
convictions and leaving the scene of an accident.
MORE: How bad is driving under the influence of marijuana?

What can your license be suspended for in Vermont? 

There’s a range of reasons your license could be suspended. Here are the most common ways driving privileges are lost in Vermont, and what to avoid if you want to keep yours. 

1. If you collect too many violation points

In Vermont,
driver's license points
are added to your driving record when you commit traffic violations. If you accumulate 10 or more points within two years, your license will be suspended.

2. If you are convicted of a DUI

In Vermont, a DUI conviction will lead to an immediate 90-day suspension of your license. If someone is injured or killed due to your driving under the influence, you will lose your license for a full year. A second offense will lead to license suspension for 18 months, and a third results in lifetime suspension or revocation.

3. If you commit an underage DUI

Anyone under 21 found driving with a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of .02% or higher or who refuses to have their breath or blood tested will have their license suspended for six months on the first offense. A second offense will result in license suspension until the age of 21.

4. If you refuse a breathalyzer test

Under
Vermont’s implied consent law
, all drivers agree to have their breath or blood tested for drugs and/or alcohol. Refusal to comply will result in a six-month license suspension.

5. If you leave the scene of an accident

If you’re involved in an accident and you do not stop to check for injuries and/or assess damages, your license can be suspended.

6. If you attempt to elude police

Attempting to elude police following a routine traffic stop or any other traffic violation will result in license suspension.

7. If you don’t pay child support

If you’ve failed to pay child support for three or more months, the court may order the suspension of any Vermont-issued driver’s license.

8. If you don’t maintain Vermont car insurance

If you’re caught
driving without insurance
during a routine traffic stop, drivers in Vermont will face a fine of up to $500. Their license will be suspended if they do not produce
proof of acquired insurance
within seven days of the original traffic stop.

9. If you drive with a suspended license or no license

Driving on a suspended license will increase the length of the suspension and can also result in up to five years in jail.

10. If you drive recklessly

Vermont uses the term “negligent operation,” but it amounts to the same thing—
reckless driving
. Not only will this add 10 points to your license, but it will also result in a 30-day license suspension for the first offense, 90 days for the second, and a six-month suspension for subsequent offenses.

How to save money on car insurance in Vermont

Keeping a
clean driving record
is a great way to ensure your insurance rates stay low, but even if you’ve had a few offenses,
Jerry
can help you find affordable car insurance. 
Jerry is the most
trustworthy licensed insurance broker app
and the most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
It’s this simple: download the Jerry app and in less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and helping you cancel your old one upon request. 
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $887 a year on car insurance.
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With
Jerry
, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings