Uninsured Motorist Coverage in New Hampshire: Do You Need It?

Uninsured motorist coverage is not legally required in New Hampshire—unless you’ve been charged with certain traffic offenses. Click here to learn more.
Written by Mariza Morin
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
Uninsured motorist coverage isn’t required in New Hampshire. In fact, it’s the only state that doesn’t require auto insurance—unless you’re convicted of certain traffic violations. 
While most states require at least a minimum amount of
liability insurance
coverage to legally drive, New Hampshire is a rare exception. But if you’re at fault in a car accident or charged with particular traffic convictions like a DUI or vehicular assault, then you will be required to purchase both the Granite State’s minimum liability and uninsured/underinsured coverage requirements.
Not sure how it works? That’s why
, the #1-rated quote comparison app that makes
car insurance
shopping a breeze, is here to go over uninsured motorist coverage in New Hampshire. We’ll dig deeper into why you should consider this coverage and look at how you can lower your
New Hampshire car insurance
, too. 

Do you need uninsured motorist coverage in New Hampshire?

Uninsured motorist coverage
is not legally required by the state of New Hampshire—but should you get it anyway?
According to the
Insurance Information Institute (III)
, about 6.1% of all drivers in New Hampshire are uninsured as of 2019, ranking it at #7 for states with the lowest percentage of uninsured drivers. This is pretty fantastic news if you live in the Granite State!
Yet, New Hampshire is the only state that doesn’t require auto insurance unless you have recently had an at-fault accident or been charged with one of the following offenses:
  • Hit and run
  • Vehicular assault
  • Second ticket for speeding or other traffic violations
Consequently, you’ll also be required to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage and
medical payments (MedPay) coverage
if you’ve been convicted of one of the previously mentioned charges.
So, if you get into a car accident with an uninsured driver in New Hampshire, you’ll be solely responsible for paying your own out-of-pocket costs for any expenses related to a car crash. That’s why you should not only consider the minimum liability insurance coverage, but also UM/UIM coverage. And thankfully, it’s pretty affordable to add to your policy with drivers paying about $50 to $75 per year on average in New Hampshire.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How uninsured motorist insurance works in New Hampshire

If you do opt to purchase car insurance in New Hampshire (or are required if convicted of certain traffic violations), then the state’s minimum auto insurance requirements—known as 25/50/25—require $25,000 for
bodily injury liability
per person, $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 for
property damage liability
You’ll also need to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage with$25,000 for bodily insurance per person and $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident.
However, don’t forget that car insurance in New Hampshire is completely optional unless the state legally requires you to purchase it. While forgoing insurance might sound tempting to your wallet, you could be setting yourself up for a greater financial risk with just one car accident. 
Keep in mind that New Hampshire also ranks at #17 among
the most expensive states for ER visits
with an average cost of $1,787 per visit. This doesn’t even include additional costs that may come with a wreck such as a possible ambulance bill, medical expenses, or income loss.

What’s available

So what uninsured motorist coverage is available in New Hampshire?
There are two categories that UM/UIM coverage falls into in New Hampshire: 
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage (UM/UMBI), which helps cover medical expenses for you and your passengers after an accident with an uninsured driver
  • Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage (UIM/UIMBI), which helps cover medical expenses if the other driver doesn’t have sufficient funds to cover your damages 
UM/UIM coverage is especially important because New Hampshire is the only state that doesn’t require auto insurance. That means if you get into an at-fault accident with an uninsured driver, then you’ll have to pay for all your own medical expenses and damages. 
If the uninsured driver is at-fault, then you could hire a personal injury lawyer and pursue an injury claim but must prove the other driver caused the collision. It’s a time-consuming and grueling legal process that doesn’t guarantee that you’ll recover your damages.  

What it covers

Generally speaking, UM/UIM bodily injury coverage in New Hampshire will help cover medical expenses for you and your passengers. But that’s not all, UM/UIM insurance coverage will also help pay for: 
  • Funeral costs
  • Future medical bills
  • Lost wages
  • Rehabilitation costs
  • Pain and suffering
Car collisions are stressful enough for all involved parties without having to also consider how you’re going to pay for medical expenses. Purchasing UM/UIM insurance is an easy and cost-effective way to prevent high out-of-pocket costs associated with car accidents.

How to make a claim 

If you get into an auto accident, it’s important to first exchange information—including insurance information—with the other driver. If they don’t have insurance, then you’ll need to file a UM/UIM claim with your insurance company. 
The process is relatively straightforward when
filing a car insurance claim
with your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Like a regular claim, you just have to call your insurance provider and explain what happened. Make sure to have all necessary documents like a police report and medical bills, ready when you file your claim. 
Be aware that if your medical expenses surpass your UM/UIM coverage limit, then you’ll be responsible for paying the remaining costs through your health insurance or other means.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
rating primary
4.7/5 App Store Rating. Trusted by 2+ Million Customers.

Why it’s a good idea to buy uninsured motorist insurance in New Hampshire

Obviously, adding uninsured motorist insurance to your policy will be more expensive than if you just stick with the
state minimums
—if you even decide to get car insurance at all. But there are a couple of good reasons to purchase UM/UIM coverage anyway, including:

New Hampshire doesn’t require bodily injury liability insurance

New Hampshire is the only state other than Florida that doesn’t require drivers to carry
bodily injury liability coverage
. This means that you’re putting yourself at serious financial risk if you get into an accident with a New Hampshire driver who may not have any insurance coverage to help cover your medical costs. 
As mentioned before, you could hire a personal injury lawyer to sue for damages, but the costs of a personal injury suit can add up quickly. The average hourly rate for a personal injury lawyer in New Hampshire ranges from $200 to $400. That’s a significant increase compared to the average annual expense of adding uninsured motorist coverage to your current policy! 

Over 6% of New Hampshire drivers are uninsured

As stated previously, New Hampshire has a fair amount of uninsured drivers on the road. While the number of uninsured drivers is not even close to the jaw-dropping numbers we see in
, you could still put yourself at a huge financial risk if you’re at fault in a car accident or become a victim of a
New Hampshire hit-and-run
Give yourself peace of mind while driving through the Granite State and consider adding UM/UIM coverage to your policy to further protect yourself (and your passengers!) on the road. 

How to save on uninsured motorist coverage in New Hampshire

Ultimately, many New Hampshire drivers decline uninsured motorist coverage due to the added cost. It’s certainly understandable when money is tight! But if your current budget is preventing you from adding UM/UIM coverage to your policy,
is here to quickly help you find the best coverage at the best price. 
We keep it simple: after you download the Jerry app, just enter your information, and in less than one minute we’ll generate multiple competitive rates from a pool of over 55 of the nation’s top insurance providers. Once you land on a policy that works for you, our team of expert agents will take care of everything, including helping you cancel your old policy. 
With Jerry—it’s all about saving you time and money. On average, Jerry users save over $800 a year on car insurance when they switch! This means you could add UM/UIM insurance coverage to your policy and still save money. 
“I was tired of looking around multiple websites, so I decided to give
a try. Let me tell you—the process is so easy and simple, and they really find you the best prices for your coverage level. Getting insurance for my new car was quick and easy!” —Joanna D.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

You might also be interested

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free