Maine requires its insurance companies to offer uninsured motorist coverage to all car insurance policyholders. Furthermore, the amount of uninsured motorist coverage must equal the chosen level of liability coverage.
In addition to
liability insuranceand uninsured motorist coverage, Maine also requires a minimum amount of
medical payments coverage(MedPay). This may seem like a lot, but the state’s robust policy requirements can help you avoid the crippling financial repercussions of getting into a car accident.
But don’t worry, you don’t have to figure it all out on your own. Here to guide you through the ins and outs of uninsured motorist coverage in Maine is
super appfor car owners. And as the App Store’s top-rated insurance app, Jerry also takes the guesswork out of lowering your
Maine car insurance costs.
Are you getting ripped off on your car insurance? Find out in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No feesFind insurance savings (100% Free)
Do you need uninsured motorist coverage in Maine?
Maine law requires every driver to carry
uninsured motorist coverage. Failure to provide proof of coverage can result in a court summons and penalty fees—but that’s not all. Driving without uninsured motorist coverage could lead to a catastrophic financial situation.
According to the most recent data collected by the
Insurance Information Institute, only 4.9% of Mainers drive uninsured. Still, if you live in a city with more drivers, you may want to increase your base uninsured motorist coverage for extra peace of mind.
You might wonder why
uninsured motorist coverage is so expensivein Maine. It's for good reason: If you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, you may face steep costs for any repairs and/or medical bills. Fortunately,
Maine is one of the cheapest states in the nation for car insurance, and the small cost is more than worth it.
How uninsured motorist insurance works in Maine
Maine car insurance lawsdon’t end with minimum liability coverage. In addition to $50,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $100,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $2,500 of property damage liability per accident, drivers must also carry uninsured motorist coverage and medical payment coverage.
If you’re in an accident, the at-fault motorist’s policy pays out its bodily injury liability limits before your UM coverage kicks in to cover any remaining losses. But if the other driver doesn’t have the minimum liability insurance coverage, getting compensation may be tedious or entirely impossible.
Fortunately, Maine’s uninsured medical payments coverage (MedPay) limit of $2,000 helps to cover medical costs for yourself and your passengers, regardless of fault. However, while Maine is one of the
least expensive states for ER visits, the state’s minimum MedPay requirements may not be sufficient if you’re in a life-altering accident.
So what, exactly, are your options for coverage in Maine?
In Maine, uninsured motorist coverage limits are automatically included in your car insurance policy. Insurance companies are legally required to include $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident of bodily injury liability coverage to match the state minimum bodily injury liability limits. If you’re carrying more than the state’s minimum liability limits, you must carry an equal amount of UI/UIM coverage.
If you choose to reject equal coverage, however, the insurance company must provide UI/UIM coverage in no less than the minimum bodily injury liability amount. To do so, you must sign a form that states you choose reduced protection. While you have the right to reject equal coverage, you should first consider the potential losses of getting into an accident.
Rather than having to file a time-consuming (and potentially futile) lawsuit, UI/UIM coverage will allow you to file a claim with your own insurance company to pay medical bills without having to pay out of pocket while waiting for the courts.
What it covers
UM/UIM insurance in Maine only offers uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage, which pays for many types of accidents and their outcomes.
Of all the types of possible auto accidents, UM/UIM covers:
- Hit and runs
- Drivers without any car insurance (uninsured drivers)
- Drivers with car insurance policy limits that are lower than your policy limits (underinsured drivers)
- Unidentified drivers who cause accidents where there is no collision between two vehicles or more (you’re covered if you’re hit by a vehicle while walking or biking)
If you’re involved in a serious accident with a driver who doesn’t carry sufficient or any insurance, your expenses could quickly balloon to tens of thousands of dollars which could take a lifetime to pay off. With sufficient UM/UIM coverage, you’ll have help paying for:
- Medical expenses, including continuing medical care
- Pain and suffering
- Lost wages
In addition to being one of only two states in the country requiring MedPay, Maine also permits coverage “stacking”, allowing you to claim benefits from separate policies. If, for example, you’re a passenger hit by an uninsured motorist and your medical costs exceed the driver’s UI coverage and any liability insurance available to you, you could recoup medical bills compensation under your own UM/UIM policy to get the maximum possible payout.
Key Takeaway If you or a loved one sustain serious injuries from an accident, you don’t want to stress over medical coverage. The low cost of adequate UM/UIM coverage is priceless.
How to make a claim
Whatever happens, you should make every effort to exchange insurance information with other drivers involved in an accident. If the other driver has inadequate or no auto insurance, you’ll need to file a UM/UIM claim with your own insurance company.
Submitting a claim with your UM/UIM coverage is pretty simple. Call your insurer to describe what happened. Keep important documentation on hand if it’s requested, such as the collision reports, medical bills, and any records from the hospital and your doctor(s).
Why it’s a good idea to buy uninsured motorist insurance in Maine
Maine has pretty robust minimum insurance requirements—meaning it may seem pointless to add on coverage. But it’s never a good idea to reject coverage already offered by the state and you should strive to match your UM/UIM coverage to your bodily injury coverage amount.
New Hampshire doesn’t require auto insurance
UM/UIM coverage is essential for Mainers who plan to travel through the neighboring state of New Hampshire. This is for two reasons: 1) Auto insurance is the only state in the country that does not require car insurance, and 2) even if the NH driver has insurance, the minimum bodily injury liability amount is a meager $25,000. That's only half of Maine’s requirements!
To have the best chance at recovering damages following an accident, even when driving out of state, you’ll need this type of auto coverage. Relatedly, tourism is Maine’s largest industry. As you can imagine, driving alongside visitors who may be lost, uninsured, distracted, or all the above is a recipe for disaster. Don’t leave yourself financially vulnerable.
Don’t rely on the bare minimum
You never know what could happen out on the roads. Even if you believe you’re the safest driver in the world, that won’t protect you and your family from the reckless and dangerous drivers sharing the road with zero or severely lacking car insurance.
You also don’t want to be surprised by any potential expenses. For example, MedPay must deem your medical services as reasonable and necessary—otherwise, the insurer is allowed to contest the claim and refuse to pay. In this case, it’s helpful to have UM/UIM coverage (and every other possible coverage tool in your toolkit) to settle expensive medical care costs.
How to save on uninsured motorist coverage in Maine
Toolkits aren’t just for car repairs—that is, drivers have access to the best car insurance toolkit on the market. How exactly? With
Jerrythe super app!
Jerry is a licensed insurance broker and car insurance comparison shopping tool helping Maine drivers save on auto protection, including UM/UIM coverage. Maine is one of the most insured states in the nation; but as a high-traffic tourist destination, one accident with an out-of-state driver could throw a wrenchin all of your plans.
Avoid costly mistakes: Simply take 45 seconds to download the app and answer a few questions. Jerry will then match you with policy quotes from its pool of more than 55 partnered companies. Select your favorite, and Jerry will handle everything else—from paperwork, phone calls, and policy swapping.
Not only will Jerry optimize your coverage, but the App Store’s #1-rated insurance app can also optimize your budget, trimming the average user’s car insurance costs by at least $800 each year!
6 Ways to Cope with Income Loss due to Coronavirus
The Coronavirus pandemic has led to income losses for many, but there are 6 ways that help you cope
7 A.I. Companies That Can Save You $7,000 a Year for Free
Emerging A.I. technology is powering a revolution that allows people to save like never before.
Geico Policyholders Use This App to Save $853
Can a crusading app based on artificial intelligence stop insurance companies from Rickrolling? The answer: Yes.