In Georgia, there are a number of offenses that can result in your license being suspended or revoked, such as failing to appear in court, driving under the influence, or not having valid proof of insurance. But if you’re caught driving with a suspended license, you face up to a $1,000 fine and 12 months in prison.
Most of us don’t think twice about driving—assuming you have a valid driver’s license, you’re in the clear to hit the roads.
But one small mishap and you could end up with a suspended or revoked license—and it’s probably easier than you think for this to happen. If you’re not familiar with the penalties that can get your license suspended, it’s important to brush up on the law before getting behind the wheel!
Here to help you with the licensing laws in Georgia is the
car insurancecomparison app,
Jerry. We’re walking you through the difference between a suspension and a revocation, the most common offenses that can result in having your Georgia driver’s license taken away, and how it can affect the
cost of car insurance in Georgia.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
What’s the difference between a license suspension and revocation?
When an individual commits a traffic violation or legal offense, Georgia’s Department of Driver Services (DDS) has the power to suspend or revoke their license. This means that their driver’s license is no longer valid, and they cannot legally operate a motor vehicle. However, the lines between suspension and revocation can be blurry, so here’s what you should know about both:
- A license suspension is a temporary loss of driving privileges that are reinstated after a designated duration
- A license revocation happens due to more serious offenses and results in the permanent removal of driving privileges
Georgia laws state that in certain situations, a limited driving permit may be granted for a fee during the period of your license suspension. However, this permit does set restrictions on places and purposes that you can drive. The Georgia DDS website has more information on
DUI laws in Georgia
What can your license be suspended for in Georgia?
There are a number of offenses that can result in the Georgia DDS suspending or revoking your license. Here are some of the
most common reasons:
1. If you’re a Super Speeder
If you’re caught driving over 75 mph on a two-lane road or highway, or 85 mph and over on any highway or road, you’re classified as a
Georgia Super Speeder. Although you may not be pulled over by law enforcement, you will find a $200 Super Speeder ticket in your mailbox. Once driving privileges are suspended, you can expect a second letter.
Once the ticket is issued, the driver will have 120 days to pay the fee. Failure to pay can result in license suspension and applicable fees for reinstatement.
The offender will have 120 days from the date of the notice to pay the fee to DDS. Failure to pay the fee in the time allotted will result in the suspension of the driver's license, and the offender will be required to pay a
If you’re from out of state and caught speeding, you’re subject to the same regulations.
2. If you fail to make your child support payments
If you’re liable for child support payments and you fail to make them, Georgia law upholds license suspensions. Driver’s license suspensions for failed child support are done via electronic notifications to the DDS from the Georgia Department of Human Services (DHS).
The non-custodial parent will be notified about his or her suspension and granted a grace period to make the payments before the suspension is put into place. If non-compliant, the suspension will remain in place indefinitely until the non-custodial parent agrees to comply with their child support obligations.
3. If you’re driving under the influence
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs poses a major danger to both pedestrians and drivers. Any driver aged 21 or older convicted of a
DUI in Georgiais subject to a license suspension or revocation or non-resident driving privileges for anywhere from 120 days to 5 years depending on their driving record.
Here are the penalties in Georgia for a DUI:
10 days to 12 months
90 days to 12 months
120 days to 12 months
$300 to $1,000
$600 to $1,000
$1,000 to $5,000
20 hours (40 hours if BAC >0.08%)
30 days minimum
30 days minimum
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare and find out in 45 seconds.
4. If you fail to appear in court
Failure to appear for your court date or pay your traffic citation can result in a license suspension or bench warrant. However, some courts will allow a grace period of 7 to 30 days until the court issues a suspension or bench warrant. The driver’s license suspension will go into effect 28 days after the DDS receives notice that you did not appear in court.
Once the fee is paid and the release is received, your driving privileges will be reinstated.
5. If you’re driving without valid insurance
If you’re stopped by law enforcement and can’t provide proof of valid insurance, you could be subject to a license suspension. In Georgia, all drivers are required to have minimum
If you can’t provide proof of insurance, your license will be suspended and you could be charged with a misdemeanor, which carries a fine of $200 to $1,000, up to 12 months in jail, or both.
6. If you’ve accumulated too many driving points
Accumulation of driving points is a big no-no for your license. There are a number of convictions that can lead to loss of points, including failure to obey a traffic light or signal, improper lane use, or improper passing of a vehicle. The Georgia DDS website outlines the full
Your license can be suspended if you:
- Accumulate 15 or more points within 24 months
- Are under 18 and accumulate 4 points within 12 months
- Are under 21 and are convicted of a 4-point violation
7. If you attempt to flee or elude a police officer
If a police officer requires a driver to stop, the driver must immediately come to a safe stop. Evading law enforcement or failing to comply with a signaled stop can lead to severe consequences.
In Georgia, it carries a fine of $500 to $5,000 and possible jail time from 10 days to 12 months. A subsequent conviction within 10 years can land you a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, 30 days to 12 months in jail, or both.
8. If you’re involved in a hit and run
Leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a
hit-and-run, is a felony offense in Georgia and can carry a potential license suspension. Penalties for a first-time hit-and-run offense causing minor injury or damage include a mandatory license suspension, a fine of anywhere from $300 to $1,000, and possible imprisonment for up to 12 months.
9. If you’re deemed unfit to drive
All drivers must be able to safely operate a motor vehicle before they are allowed to hit the road. If you’re deemed physically or mentally unfit to drive, the Georgia DDS can suspend or revoke your license for 30 days. In order to reinstate driving privileges, you will have to undergo a
10. If you refuse a breathalyzer test
If you’re a driver in Georgia, you’re legally subject to what’s called implied consent. Refusing to take a breathalyzer test if pulled over by law enforcement is a violation of implied consent and can land you a one-year license suspension.
How to save money on car insurance in Georgia
Driving without a license in Georgia can result in fines, potential jail time, and a major impact on your car insurance premiums. That’s where
Jerry, the car insurance app and
comes in handy. Jerry searches through more than 50 of the top insurance providers to find you the best coverage at the lowest rates—suspension on record or not.
Getting started is easy. Just download the app, enter your information, and Jerry will send you the top competitive quotes. Once you find the right policy, Jerry’s support team will take care of all the paperwork.
And when it comes time to renew, they’ll shop around, so you’re always getting the best price. That’s why Jerry is the #1 insurance app and saves customers an average of $887 a year on car insurance!
“Jerrybrought my insurance deductible down from $2.5k to $1k without me having to switch companies. I even had a ticket on my record. If it can help me, Jerry will definitely help you save money.” —Maxwell N.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍