SR-22 in Louisiana: What You Need to Know

In Louisiana, an insurer files an SR-22 certificate on a suspended driver’s behalf as a guarantee that the driver is carrying the mandated minimum insurance.
Written by Jason Tushinski
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
In
Louisiana
, if you’ve been convicted of a major driving violation, your insurance company will need to file an
SR-22 form
on your behalf for you to regain your driving privileges—this "proof of insurance" guarantees that you carry the mandated minimum
auto insurance
requirements as set by the state.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is an SR-22 in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, an SR-22 form or certificate is filed by your insurer and guarantees that you carry at least the state-mandated minimum
liability car insurance
.
Louisiana's mandated minimum insurance requirements
, or the amount each driver must carry by law, are as follows:
In the Bayou State, SR-22 certificates are usually required for at least three years following a date of conviction. If you don’t maintain proof of future financial responsibility within this period, either by letting the certificate lapse or if you cancel it, you risk having your license suspended.
Key Takeaway Cancelling an SR-22 or letting it lapse before your probation period ends can result in the loss of your driving privileges.

Who needs it?

If a Louisiana driver has their license revoked or suspended for any of the following reasons, they will likely need their insurer to file for an SR-22 on their behalf in order to get their driver’s license back:

How to get it

An SR-22 form or certificate is filed by your insurer with the Louisiana DMV on your behalf.

Find an insurer

Not all insurers file SR-22 forms, as many carriers won’t offer coverage to high-risk drivers. Do your research and find an insurer that issues SR-22s in Louisiana.

Pay the SR-22 fee

Once you find an insurance provider willing to file an SR-22 on your behalf, pay the fee so the form can be processed and filed.

Verify minimum liability coverage

Since your insurer will be filing
proof of insurance
for you, you must meet Louisiana’s minimum liability requirements, at the least.

Submit your SR-22

Now that you’ve found an insurer and have met Louisiana’s minimum liability coverage, your insurer will submit your SR-22 to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety. You’ll soon receive a letter in the mail from your insurance company confirming that your SR-22 was accepted by the state.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

How much does it cost?

Depending on your insurer, an SR-22 form or certificate can cost anywhere between $15 and $22 in Louisiana as an add-on to your car insurance policy.

How an SR-22 impacts your insurance in Louisiana

If you need your insurer to file an SR-22 form on your behalf, your car insurance premiums will likely go up for as long as you are on probation. Once you complete your probationary period without incident, your rates will begin to decrease.
You might have a more difficult time finding an insurer to file an SR-22 for you, as not all insurers will take on drivers they deem to be high-risk.
That being said, there are a decent amount of insurance carriers—both large and small—that will insure high-risk drivers. Always shop around to find an insurer willing to provide the best coverage at an affordable rate.
"If you’re shopping for car insurance, shop no further!
Jerry
made shopping for car insurance the easiest experience I’ve ever had. They give you multiple quotes and they were by far the cheapest rates I have seen!"—Satisfied Jerry user

FAQs

Can I file an SR-22 form on my own?

No, you cannot. An SR-22 form can only be filed by your insurance company, on your behalf.

If I need an SR-22 form, will my insurance rates go sky-high?

If you require an SR-22 form, your premiums will increase, but the amount of the increase will depend on your overall driving record. Also, these rate hikes are temporary—once you complete your probation, your insurance rates will begin to decrease.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings