Seat-Belt Laws in Georgia

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Seat-belt laws in Georgia require the driver and all passengers seated in the front seat to wear a seat-belt. Passengers between the ages of 8 and 17 must always wear a seat-belt, no matter their location in the vehicle. Passengers over the age of 18 are not required to wear a seat-belt in the back seat.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car accident if they are not wearing a seat-belt. Be safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Georgia’s seat-belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Georgia?

The driver and all passengers seated in the front seat are required to wear a seat-belt under Georgia law. Passengers between the ages of 8 and 17 must always wear a seat-belt, no matter their location in the vehicle.
Passengers over the age of 18 are not legally required to wear seat-belts in the back seat. However, for safety’s sake, it’s wise to wear a seat-belt at all times.
Key Takeaway The driver and all front-seat passengers are required by law to wear a seat-belt in Georgia. Kids between the ages of 8 and 17 must be belted at all times.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Georgia?

Breaking the Georgia seat-belt law will result in a $15 fine if the driver or front-seat passenger is not belted. If a child between the ages of 8 and 17 is not belted, the driver will be fined $25.
In Georgia, breaking the seat-belt is considered a nonmoving violation. This means you won’t get any points on your driving record.
A police officer is allowed to pull you over in Georgia if they spot a seat-belt violation, as it’s considered a primary offense.
Key Takeaway Breaking the Georgia seat-belt law will result in a $15 or $25 fine, depending on the age of the unbelted passenger.

Could it impact my driving record?

It’s unlikely. Since breaking this law is considered a nonmoving violation in Georgia, you will not receive points on your driving record.
It will show up on your driver abstract, however, which means that your insurance company will probably find out about it.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Could it impact my insurance?

Possibly. Receiving a seat-belt ticket won’t affect your insurance in most states. You might see a very slight change in your premiums.
However, your insurance company will definitely notice if you rack up a ton of seat-belt tickets. This could trigger a larger increase in your premiums.

Finding cheap car insurance in Georgia

If you’re shopping for car insurance in Georgia, the Jerry app is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
“Blown away at how easy the process was. I received a quote for half of what I was paying.”ーSatisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free