Seat-Belt Laws in California

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Cheap car insurance
Seat-belt laws in California dictate that all passengers over the age of eight must wear a seat-belt. Child safety laws apply to children. The driver is responsible for all of their passengers.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat-belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about California seat-belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in California?

All passengers eight years of age and older are required by California law to wear a seat-belt, no matter where they are seated in the vehicle. Children under the age of eight must be properly restrained with a federally-approved car restraint system.
The driver is responsible for all of their passengers.
Key Takeaway All passengers eight years of age and older must wear a seat-belt in California, and children under the age of eight must be properly restrained.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in California?

Breaking the California seat-belt law could result in a fine of $20 at minimum. The next time you break the law, you’ll be fined $50. That being said, the overall amount you pay will be closer to $160 due to fees and penalty assessments.
In California, breaking the seat-belt law is considered a nonmoving violation, so you won’t get any points on your record.
However, breaking the California car seat law is serious and you’ll be hit with a $490 fine and one point on your record.
Key Takeaway Breaking the California seat-belt law will result in a fine of at least $20 plus fees.

Could it impact my driving record?

It’s unlikely. Since breaking the car seat law is considered a nonmoving violation in California, you will not receive points on your driving record.
It will show up on your driver abstract, but this shouldn’t have very serious consequences—unless the unbelted passenger was a minor.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Could it impact my insurance?

Possibly. Seat-belt tickets won’t affect your insurance in most states.
However, your insurance company will definitely notice if you wrack up a ton of seat-belt tickets. If you don’t pay your fine immediately, your credit score might also go down. Either scenario could trigger an increase in your premiums.

Finding cheap car insurance in California

If you’re shopping for car insurance in California, the Jerry app is your ultra-talented car insurance broker for life. No need to sit across from him at a desk—Jerry is an app! It takes less than a minute to sign up and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 50 top providers. Don’t lose coverage, find savings with Jerry.
“Insurance in a flash. Fast and friendly service, thank you!”ーSatisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free