How to Get a Rhode Island Driver’s License Reinstatement

A Rhode Island driver’s license reinstatement costs $150 on average, but the process for reinstatement depends on your specific offense.
Written by Macy Fouse
Having your Rhode Island driver’s license reinstated may be as simple as paying your fines and the reinstatement fee of $150, but your specific requirements will depend on your offense since Rhode Island considers each case on an individual basis.
  • For some drivers, all you need to do to reinstate your Rhode Island driver’s license is pay a reinstatement fee.
  • Depending on your circumstances, you may also need to retake your driving exam, undergo court-ordered treatment, or install an ignition interlock device.
  • In Rhode Island, a license reinstatement fee is usually $150 or $350, but the rules can vary based on your circumstances.

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Rhode Island

You can get your Rhode Island driver’s license suspended or revoked for several different reasons, including:
  • Failure to stop for a school bus
  • Refusal to take a breathalyzer test
  • Driving while impaired or driving under the influence
  • Committing a felony with a motor vehicle
  • Reckless driving
  • Showing a disregard for traffic laws by committing frequent traffic offenses 
When your Rhode Island license has been suspended, you won’t regain your driving privileges automatically after your suspension period ends. In Rhode Island, they consider each case on an individual basis, so your restoration requirements will vary. 
License reinstatements are handled by the Adjudication Unit of the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

How to get a license reinstatement in Rhode Island

Since Rhode Island considers each license reinstatement case individually, the exact steps required can vary from individual to individual. In general, though, here’s what you can expect:
  • Fulfill your suspension period
  • Satisfy any court requirements
  • Pay off all fines and fees
  • Pay the driver’s license reinstatement fee of $150 ($352.50 for alcohol-related suspensions)
  • Retake a driving test 
  • Complete a defensive driving program, if applicable
  • Attend alcohol treatment, if required 
  • Install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, if applicable
To get your specific eligibility requirements, you’ll probably need to meet with a hearing officer in person at the Rhode Island DMV Adjudication office.
Remember: Be sure to bring any required documents and fees when you head to the DMV. 


If your Rhode Island license was revoked: The process to have it reinstated will largely be the same as the process for a suspended license. The requirements will also be considered on a case-by-case basis. 
Key Takeaway You can only find out your requirements for license reinstatement by meeting with a hearing officer at the Rhode Island DMV Adjudication Office. 

How to get a hardship license in Rhode Island

Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a major offense in Rhode Island, but it can be difficult to get to work without a vehicle. That’s why certain drivers with suspended licenses are eligible to apply for a hardship license, which allows them a set 12-hour period each day when they can drive to and from work.
Keep in mind: Rhode Island only grants
hardship licenses
in conjunction with a mandatory installation of an interlock ignition device. 
If you’re given a hardship license and an interlock device, you have to report it to the Adjudication Office immediately so they can add it to your license. If you report it too late, you’ll likely have to explain the delay in court. 
Hardship licenses come with a $100 license fee, and the interlock provider may have their own fees you must pay. Finally, you’ll also be required to pay a fee of $27.50 to update your driver’s license with your new restrictions. 

Hardship license eligibility in Rhode Island

To be eligible for a hardship license in Rhode Island, you must meet the following requirements:
  • You were sentenced by a judge or magistrate for a DUI
  • You must get an ignition interlock device installed on your car
  • You have to provide proof of employment and hours of employment

What is an SR-22 certificate?

If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, you typically have to file for an
SR-22 certificate
through your auto insurance company. Often called SR-22 insurance, these documents serve as legal proof that your insurance meets the
state's minimum insurance requirements
The state of Rhode Island does not require SR-22 certificates, but having an SR-22 after a license suspension or revocation can make it easier to get insurance coverage once you get your license reinstated. 
“I wanted to stick with only the insurance my state requires for now.
helped me save $75 a month on my premium!” —Nora H. 
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings