Services
Insurance
Loans
Repairs
Advice
About
background

How to Get a Kentucky Driver’s License Reinstatement

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
To reinstate your Kentucky driver's license, you must fulfill the requirements of your
license suspension
, and you may have to pay a $40 reinstatement fee. If your license has been suspended for more than one year, you will have to take additional steps to reinstate it.
In Kentucky, you can have your license suspended for a variety of reasons. These may include too many moving violations, tax debt, a
DUI
, or driving without
car insurance
. If you are caught driving on a suspended license, your license may be revoked or your suspension might be extended.
Once your suspension ends, you can follow a series of steps to reinstate your Kentucky driver's license.
Jerry
, the car insurance comparison super app, has compiled everything you need to know about this process. We can also help you lower your
Kentucky car insurance costs
.
Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Kentucky

If the
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
(KYTC) suspends your license, this is a temporary consequence. At the end of your license suspension period, you should receive a notice of restoration from the KYTC with instructions on how to reinstate your Kentucky driver's license.
The reinstatement process varies among drivers, but in most cases, you will have to pay a fine and submit paperwork. You can check your driving history
online

How to get a license reinstatement in Kentucky

The terms and length of your driver's license suspension will determine the process for reinstating your Kentucky driver's license. In most cases, you must pay a $40 fee to the KYTC to reinstate your license. Your suspension notice should detail whether or not you have to pay this reinstatement fee.
You can pay your reinstatement fee with a certified check or money order at a Kentucky Department of Transportation field office. Remember to bring your suspended driver's license with you.
You may also pay your reinstatement fee with a debit or credit card over the phone through the KYTC at 859-692-5834 or 502-564-1257.
If your license has been suspended for over a year, you will also have to:
  • Apply for reinstatement.
  • Pass a written test.
  • Pay for a new driver's license. 

Point suspensions

Under the Kentucky
driver's license point
system, drivers start with no points and accumulate points when they commit traffic violations. Your license may be suspended once you reach 12 points in a two-year period, or seven points if you are under 18 years old.
Each offense carries a penalty of zero to six points. Consider the following examples:
  • Stop violation: three points
  • Improper lane usage: three points
  • Reckless driving
    : four points
  • Following too closely: four points
  • Improper passing: five points
  • Failure to stop for church or school bus: six points
Once an adult driver reaches the 12-point threshold, the KYTC conducts a driving privileges hearing. Failure to appear for this hearing results in an automatic license suspension. Suspension details are as follows:
  • Six months for the first accumulation of 12 points
  • One year for the second accumulation of 12 points
  • Two years for any subsequent accumulation for 12 points
If you attempt to elude a police officer, this offense results in an automatic license suspension. 
Key Takeaway Once you fulfill the terms of your license's suspension, you may reinstate your license through the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. You may have to pay a $40 reinstatement fee as well. 
MORE: What is a sheriff's inspection form in Kentucky?

How to get a hardship license in Kentucky

Driving with a suspended license in Kentucky can result in a lengthened suspension, or worse. That said, transportation without a car can be tough, especially in a state like Kentucky, which has lots of rural areas. 
Some Kentucky drivers with suspended licenses can apply for a hardship license, which allows them to commute to school, work, and other necessary places even while their driver's license is suspended.
You may be able to apply for a hardship license through the District Clerk's office in the county where your offense took place. You must first submit paperwork through the County Attorney's office for review and approval, after which a judge may approve and sign off on your application.
After a judge has approved your application for a hardship license, the County Attorney's office will call and notify you that your paperwork is ready for pickup. Bring this approved hardship license paperwork to the District Clerk's office, along with your suspended license. 
If you no longer have your suspended license, you can instead bring any of the following documents:
  • Birth certificate (original or state-certified with a raised, embossed seal)
  • Social Security card
  • Passport
  • Official U.S. or Kentucky document with your full name and Social Security number visible 

When can you apply for a hardship license?

Kentucky requires drivers to meet a 30-day suspension minimum before they can apply for a hardship license.

What is an SR-22 certificate?

Most states require drivers whose licenses have been suspended to file an SR-22 certificate through their insurance provider. This certificate, often called SR-22 insurance, demonstrates that a driver has met minimum insurance requirements. 
Kentucky is one of few states that does not require drivers with suspended licenses to file this special documentation.
Even so, you must meet minimum legal requirements for car insurance in Kentucky. Kentucky mandates that drivers purchase at least the following
liability insurance coverage
:
  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage 

How to save money on car insurance in Kentucky

If your license has been suspended, your car insurance is likely to go up. You'll need all the help you can get finding affordable rates. Thankfully,
Jerry
is here to help.
All you have to do is download the Jerry app. In under a minute, Jerry will pull all of your information from your existing insurer. The app will then present you with competitive quotes selected from dozens of the top
car insurance
companies.
Jerry even takes care of the rest—the app secures your new policy and helps you cancel your old one. Plus, the average Jerry user saves $887 per year on car insurance.
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With
Jerry
, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
icon
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
4.7/5
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings