South Dakota DUI Laws

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
South Dakota DUI laws say that anyone with a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above can be charged with a DUI. Drivers who are operating a commercial vehicle may not exceed a BAC of 0.04%. Drivers younger than 21 may not exceed 0.02% BAC.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Not only is it dangerous, but it’s also a crime to drive while under the influence of intoxicants like alcohol and drugs (even legal drugs). Penalties vary by state, but even a first-time offense could cost a driver up to $10,000 in legal fees and fines. Plus, a DUI can trigger a huge increase in your car insurance rates.
Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about the DUI laws in South Dakota.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI?

DUI is an acronym that stands for driving under the influence. Some states use different terms to mean the same thing, like DWI (driving while intoxicated), OUI (operating under the influence), or OWI (operating while intoxicated).
You can be charged with a DUI for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This includes legal drugs like prescription medicines, over-the-counter drugs, and marijuana.
In South Dakota, you can be charged for a DUI even without excessive intoxication if your BAC is too high.

DUI in South Dakota

In South Dakota, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of:
  • 0.08% or higher
  • 0.04% if you’re driving a commercial vehicle
  • 0.02% if you’re under 21 years old
  • Any amount of marijuana for drivers under 21 years old
Note that underage DUI penalties in South Dakota tend to be more rehabilitative than punitive.
Key Takeaway People under the age of 21 may not carry alcohol inside a vehicle unless a parent is present and the container is unopened, full, and sealed.
Every state in the country has an implied consent law. This law says that you consent to be tested if an officer suspects you of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. It is an offense to refuse to submit—your license will be revoked for one year if you refuse.
If you are lawfully arrested for a DUI, you are required to submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. You do not have the right to consult with a lawyer before you take the test.

Penalties for DUI in South Dakota

South Dakota DUI penalties are harsh and the conviction will remain on your driving record for ten years.
You might harbor hope that your DUI charge will get thrown out. However, this is unlikely as South Dakota statutes prohibit dismissal or reduction of a DUI without good cause.

First conviction

DUI penalties in South Dakota are based upon the number of offenses within the last ten years. The judge has a lot of discretion when it comes to doling out jail time, fines, license suspension, and mandatory substance abuse treatment.
A first DUI conviction in South Dakota could result in these penalties:
PenaltyDescription
Fine$1,000 to $2,000
JailUp to one year
License suspension30 days to one year
Ignition interlock deviceNo
Vehicle impoundmentNo
SR-22 requirementYes
If your BAC was found to be 0.17% or higher, you will be required to be assessed for alcohol and drug dependence. You can also be compelled to complete a chemical dependency program.

Subsequent convictions

If you are convicted of a DUI more than once in a ten-year period, you will be subject to increased penalties. These could include serious fines (up to $4,000), up to two years in prison, a lengthy license revocation, and even forfeiture of your vehicle.
A second DUI is considered a misdemeanor but a third DUI is a felony.
PenaltyDescription
Fine$2,000 to $4,000
JailOne to two years
License suspensionMinimum one year
Ignition interlock devicePossible
Vehicle impoundmentNo
SR-22 requirementYes
An ignition interlock device (IID) is not mandated by the state of South Dakota, but a judge may require you to install one if they deem it necessary. An IID can prevent your vehicle from starting if it detects any alcohol on your breath.
After the suspension period, it may be possible for you to obtain a restricted license that permits you to drive when necessary (i.e., to work) if you agree to:
  • Complete the prescribed DUI program
  • Only drive vehicles that have an ignition interlock device
  • Pay the reissue and restriction fees to the state
  • Follow other requirements set out by the court
Key Takeaway Minimum penalties are usually increased if you had a very high blood alcohol concentration or if you were involved in an accident where someone was injured—even for a first conviction.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in South Dakota?

Yes, a DUI classifies you as a high-risk driver. Insurance companies usually charge higher premiums to people who have DUI convictions on their records.
Are you struggling to find car insurance with a DUI on record? A good strategy is to shop around with multiple providers. The Jerry app can help you get personalized quotes from top companies—and it only takes 60 seconds in the smartphone app. No confusing forms or judgmental salespeople, guaranteed.
With a DUI on your record, expect substantially higher rates than your previous payment. North Dakota drivers with a DUI must also find an insurance company to file an SR-22 on their behalf. This policy confirms that a driver has the state-mandated minimum insurance.

Other effects of a DUI

On top of increased insurance rates and financial penalties, you could also face the following consequences as a result of a DUI conviction:
License revocation: Your license can be revoked temporarily if you refused a test or were charged with another serious offense.
Ignition interlock device: Every state has a version of the ignition interlock program. Drivers with a DUI conviction may need to install this device in their vehicle, which can disable an engine if any alcohol is detected on the driver’s breath.
Background checks: A DUI will show up on your background check. This means that if an employer pulls a check on you, they could refuse you employment because of your DUI.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. They even help cancel your old overpriced policy!
Why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
"I’d recommend Jerry to anyone. I’ve almost halved my insurance bill with a new Allstate plan and it took under 10 minutes." ––Leon W.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free