How Many Dogs Can You Have in Nevada?

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
4.7
App rating
25M
Insurance Quotes
2M+
Happy users
$15M+
Savings found every month
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Nevada does not have any statewide legislation regarding how many dogs you can own—but your local town or county government might have some of their own rules. 
Dogs are the best and most loyal friends that anyone could ever ask for. In a perfect world, we’d each to able to keep as many of these furry friends as we wanted. Sadly, this is not the case. To ensure the well-being of the animals and protect public health, many government bodies pass legislation limiting the number of dogs a person can keep in a single household. 
Nevada, on the other hand, has no such laws—at least not at the state level. Individual towns, counties, cities, and other local governments can pass restrictions on pet ownership within their jurisdiction. 
To fill you in on the important details, Jerry—the car and home insurance comparison super app—has put together this overview of dog laws in Nevada. 
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
rating primary
4.7/5 App Store Rating. Trusted by 2+ Million Customers.

Does Nevada have laws limiting how many dogs you can own?

Nevada does not have any statewide laws regarding how many dogs you can own. However, many areas have local laws restricting dog ownership. 
Here’s a look at how many dogs are permitted per household in different parts of Nevada:
  • Las Vegas: You cannot own more than three adult dogs, an adult dog being defined as any dog over three months old. 
  • Clark County unincorporated territories: You cannot own more than three adult dogs in one residence, an adult dog being defined as any dog over four months old. 
  • Henderson: You cannot have more than three dogs older than four months in a single residence. 
  • Mesquite: You cannot have more than three dogs older than three months in a single location.
  • Washoe County unincorporated territories: You cannot have more than three dogs over four months old in a single residence for more than 30 days in a six-month period. 
  • Carson City: You cannot have more than three dogs over six months old in a single residence. 
  • Nye County: You cannot have more than five dogs older than three months anywhere inside the Pahrump Regional PlanningDistrict.  
  • Ely: You cannot own more than two dogs older than four months old. This applies to all residential properties smaller than 2.5 acres. 
Individuals who want to keep more dogs will need to apply for and be granted special licenses, such as a breeder or kennel license
Keep in mind that some townships, counties, and local governments require pet owners to have a license for their dogs. If that’s the case in your area, you’ll need to have a proper license for your pet—even if you’re under the dog limit for your particular area. 

Are there any dog breeds outlawed in Nevada?

No—state law actually forbids having any breed-specific rules. This rule is established by Assembly Bill 110. Under this law, breed-specific legislation is forbidden in all of Nevada, meaning it is illegal for towns or counties to pass any legislation regarding a specific dog breed. 
Rather than making rules about specific breeds, Nevada judges whether or not a dog may have restrictions placed on it based upon individual problematic behavior. A Nevada resident may keep any type of dog that they want unless that dog has been legally declared “dangerous.”
According to the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS), Chapter 202, Section 500, a dog can be declared dangerous if:
  • The dog “behaved menacingly” without provocation on more than one occasion, where a person could reasonably have been afraid for their safety. The dog has to have been either off its owner’s premises or not confined in some way. 
  • The owner of the dog uses it to commit a crime.
In severe cases, a dog may even be declared vicious—which is significantly worse than being dangerous. According to the NRS, a dog may be considered “vicious” if it killed are seriously injured a human without being provoked. 

What are the leash laws in Nevada?

Unlike most states, Nevada does not have any official leash laws. Of course, local governments still have the right to pass their own leash laws—which they do. Washoe County and Henderson, for instance, both have fairly stringent leash laws. Before you go let Sparky off the leash, make sure to check the legislation in your area. 

Penalties for breaking dog laws in Nevada

Owners who break dog laws will face ramifications and legal consequences. These consequences can range from mild to severe, depending on the nature of the violation. 
Some owners might only have to pay a small fine for breaking a dog law while others might face serious jail time. Typically, the severity of the sentencing will be decided by whether or not anyone/anything was harmed, and if the dog has a known history of similar behavior. 
For instance, if a dog is already known to be vicious and harms a human, then the dog’s owner is guilty of a felony and will face serious charges. Depending on the details of the case, some dogs may even be confiscated or euthanized. 
Selling a dog after it has been declared vicious is also a crime. However, under Nevada law, an owner is not considered financially responsible for damages that their dog has caused (property damage, medical bills, etc). 

Where to find affordable insurance in Nevada

Having dogs in the house can go a long way toward discouraging break-ins. That being said, dog owners are far from fully protected with just a furry friend—countless potential perils could do serious damage to your Nevada home. That’s why everyone needs good homeowners insurance and/or renters insurance
Luckily, Jerry can help you find the best deals on either! Jerry is an insurance comparison super app and a fully licensed insurance broker, able to compare customized quotes from 55+ of the nation’s top providers in just seconds! Best of all, Jerry is free
You can use the app to find great deals on home insurance, renters insurance, and car insurance. It’s so effective that people who use the app save an average of $800+ a year!
Download Jerry and start saving today! 
“This app is all about savings! Jerry just saved me $193/month on my car insurance. They literally found me the cheapest policies out there and with better coverage! Seriously, just sit back and watch Jerry work its magic.” —Rachel B.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Find Savings!
No long forms. No spam calls. Free Quotes.
4.7/5 App Store Rating, 8,100+ Reviews
Trusted by 1.5+ Million Customers.
rating primary

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free