Vermont Security Deposit Laws

There is no limit to how much landlords can charge for a security deposit in Vermont, but they must return it to you within 14 days of moving out.
Written by Bee Davis
Reviewed by Melanie Reiff
Updated on Jun 01, 2022
There is no limit to the amount landlords are required to charge for your deposit in
, but most owners tend to ask for one to two months’ rent. After handing over your keys, your landlord has 14 days to return your deposit with an itemized list of deductions, if any have been made. 
Whether you’re a seasoned renter or a first-timer, you’re likely aware of the dreaded security deposit. Security deposit laws are different in every state, so it can be hard to understand your responsibility for paying or retaining your deposit. Lucky for you, insurance super-app
has compiled information about security deposits in Vermont, so you don’t have to! Here’s how to rent smart and get your deposit back at the end of your lease. 
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
rating primary
4.7/5 App Store Rating. Trusted by 2+ Million Customers.

What is Vermont law on security deposits?

Vermont law provides a baseline for security deposits but allows specific municipalities to adopt laws around rental agreements. For example, in
, the city requires that the deposit be sent via Certified Mail and include interest and any itemized deductions. 
While your area may have different laws around security deposits, the state allows landlords to charge the tenant a deposit for any potential damages done to the property in the course of their tenancy. 
You can read more about the specifics of statute 9 V.S.A. § 4461 on the
Vermont General Assembly’s website
or view the Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development’s
Landlord and Tenant Education Materials

What is the maximum security deposit a landlord can charge in Vermont? 

According to state law, there is no limitation or maximum amount a landlord can charge for their deposit. However, Vermont landlords tend to stay within one to two months’ rent when charging for a deposit. 

How long does a landlord have to return a security deposit in Vermont?

In Vermont, landlords have 14 days after the termination of the lease to return your deposit. If they’re made deductions from your deposit, they are legally required to provide an itemized list. 

What can a landlord withhold a security deposit for in Vermont?

A security deposit covers damages to the rental property during your tenancy, but a landlord may charge for other needs outlined by state law. Vermont law allows landlords to deduct from your deposit for the following reasons: 
  • Failure to pay rent: Your landlord can deduct any unpaid rent payments from your deposit at the end of your lease, as well as any unpaid utility charges.
  • Property damage: Any damage to property done throughout your lease, like pet stains, holes in the wall, or broken windows. Your deposit is not meant to cover the general wear and tear of maintaining the property (replacing broken appliances, refurbishing floors, etc.).
  • Getting rid of your stuff: Your landlord can charge you any expenses required for removing anything you leave behind. If they have to hire a mover to get rid of your furniture or clean up your mess, you’ll see it on your list of deductions.
Remember, it is illegal if your landlord does not provide a list of deductions when withholding part or all of your security deposit. If your deposit is withheld and you don’t see charges laid out for you, you may have grounds to get the law involved. 
Key Takeaway Landlords are allowed to charge you for damages, unpaid rent, utilities, and the cost of removing anything you leave behind. 

How to get your security deposit back in Vermont

The best way to ensure you receive your deposit at the end of your lease is to follow the terms and conditions of your lease agreement. Make sure you deep clean your apartment to avoid a cleaning fee, remove all of your possessions, and patch up some of those indiscreet holes in the wall from those crazy parties you threw. 
If you have a reason to suspect your landlord has overcharged you, you can take them to
small claims court
. In such cases, it’s very helpful to have written communication from your landlord, like text messages or emails. 

How to save money on car and renters insurance in Vermont

Disputes between renters and owners can be complicated—but that doesn’t mean your insurance has to be! Any scrape with a landlord is made easier with renters insurance, and
makes insurance easy. 
If you want cheap car and renters insurance quotes fast, go to
. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and helps to cancel your old policy. Even better—Jerry will help you bundle your
home and auto policies
for maximum savings. 
"Wow what an amazing app! I saved about $65 on auto insurance with
! Switched from Progressive to Mercury for auto insurance and it was so easy. Im pleased with this. Will be recommending to family and friends. AMAZING!" —Rachel R. 


Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

You might also be interested

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free