Nebraska Security Deposit Laws

Easiest way to compare and bundle your car and renters insurance, for free
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
Nebraska law allows landlords to require a security deposit from tenants to rent a property, but in most cases, the amount can’t exceed one month’s rent. When your lease comes to an end, the landlord will have 14 days to refund your deposit or give you a written itemization explaining what was withheld and why.
Putting money toward a security deposit can feel daunting when you’re entering a new lease, and getting it back at the end can sometimes require more effort than it feels like it’s worth. And since security deposit laws vary from state to state, it can be difficult to understand what your legal rights as a tenant are.
Understanding landlord and tenant laws where you live before entering a lease agreement can save you a lot of time and energy in the long run. That’s why the 
That’s why it’s important to brush up on your state’s laws before you make any deposits. Car and renters insurance super app Jerry is here to give you the rundown on security deposit laws in Nebraska. 
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is Nebraska law on security deposits?

A security deposit is an amount that a tenant pays to their landlord that can be refunded after a lease ends. However, under certain circumstances, a Nebraska landlord can withhold some or all of a security deposit to cover things like damage caused to the rental or unpaid rent.
Nebraska Statute 76-1416 outlines the state’s legal requirements regarding security deposits and prepaid rent. 

What is the maximum security deposit a landlord can charge in Nebraska? 

In Nebraska, landlords can’t require a security deposit that is more than one month’s rent
However, one exception to that is that an additional pet deposit can be required, which can’t exceed one-fourth of one month’s rent. 

How long does a landlord have to return a security deposit in Nebraska? 

Once your lease is over, your landlord should send you your security deposit within 14 days after the end of your tenancy.

What can a landlord withhold a security deposit for in Nebraska?

Under Nebraska law, a landlord can legally withhold some or all of your security deposit for unpaid rent or damages suffered by the landlord due to tenant violation of the lease agreement or section 76-1421 of Nebraska statutes, which outlines the tenant’s obligations for maintaining a rental home.
Some of those obligations include:
  • Complying with minimum building and housing code standards for health and safety
  • Keeping the rental as clean and safe as the premises allow
  • At the end of tenancy, the unit must be as clean as when the lease began, excluding ordinary wear and tear
  • Not causing damage to the unit
Ordinary wear and tear can be a vague term, but essentially, it refers to inevitable wear or damage over time that would be out of your control as a tenant. That could include things like a carpet that’s worn out due to its age or a small scuff here and there on a wall.
More serious damage goes beyond wear and tear, like holes in walls or floors or a broken window. 
If your landlord withholds any or all of your security deposit, the landlord must mail or deliver a written itemization to you within the 14-day limit, along with the refund of any surplus funds. 
Key Takeaway Your landlord can withhold all or some of your security deposit under certain circumstances, but they have to give you a written itemization of any expenses they’ve subtracted from the deposit.

How to get your security deposit back in Nebraska

Your landlord should send you your security deposit back within the 14 days that follow your lease end date. 
As you approach the end of your lease, it can save you some time to let your landlord know in writing what address they should send your security deposit to. Otherwise, they’ll have to send it to your last known address, which could take a little while to correct if you’re not able to access it there.
If those 14 days come and go and you still haven’t received anything from your landlord, or if you have questions about any itemized expenses withheld, you should reach out to them in writing. 
If your landlord refuses to return your security deposit or won’t give you an itemization of expenses for damages, or if you believe they’re wrongfully withholding any of your deposit, you have the option of taking them to small claims court. 

How to save money on car and renters insurance in Nebraska

In worst-case scenarios, getting your security deposit back can feel needlessly tedious. Luckily, with Jerry, finding affordable renters and car insurance policies doesn’t have to!
In less than a minute, the Jerry app can help you gather and compare quotes from top insurance providers, all in one place. On average, Jerry’s users save $887 per year on car insurance alone, and you can find additional savings when you bundle your car and renters insurance together.
From start to finish, Jerry’s top-notch support will have you covered: friendly, experienced agents can answer your questions and help walk you through setting up your new policy and canceling your old one. Later, when your policy’s up for renewal, Jerry will automatically check for new rates for you again to help you make sure you’re still getting a good deal. 
Maybe service like this is what makes Jerry the #1-rated insurance app.
Jerry makes choosing new insurance as easy as grocery shopping. Even though I had a car accident within the past 2 years, Jerry found me a great deal with Nationwide–I went from paying $340 to $90 a month!”—Pan N. 
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
rating primary
4.7/5 App Store Rating. Trusted by 2+ Million Customers.

FAQs

If you and your landlord have a written agreement, you may be able to use your security deposit toward your last month of rent, but without that written consent from your landlord, you could risk getting evicted before you’re ready to move out. It’s usually best to pay your last month of rent as usual and wait to get your security deposit after your lease is complete.
Nebraska law doesn’t outline carpet cleaning requirements after a tenant’s lease ends. However, it does state that funds withheld from a security deposit for cleaning or damages would have to exceed normal wear and tear, so they likely couldn’t do so unless the carpet became extremely dirty or damaged during your lease.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free