Expert Advice for Connecticut
All Articles on Connecticut
How to Get a Connecticut Learner’s Permit
Connecticut residents age 16 and older are eligible for a learner’s permit, but you’ll need to pass written and vision tests before the DMV issues you one.
11 Pros and Cons of Living in Connecticut
Are the high cost of living and tough winter weather outweighed by the Constitution State’s natural beauty and proximity to major metro areas? These are the 11 pros and cons of living in Connecticut.
How To Register a Car In Connecticut
Your vehicle must pass a Connecticut inspection in order for you to register it from out of state. You’ll also need to submit various forms and pay fees.
Buying a Car in Connecticut from Out of State
If you buy a car out of state, you’ll need to transfer the title so it can be legally registered in Connecticut. This involves some fees and taxes.
What To Do if You’re in a Car Accident Without Insurance But Not At Fault in Connecticut
If you’re in a car accident without insurance in Connecticut, you will still face some pretty harsh penalties—even if you weren’t at fault for the collision.
2023 Connecticut CDL Requirements Guide
The basic Connecticut CDL requirements include a valid Connecticut Class D license, clean criminal record, two forms of identification, social security card, W-2 form, or document proving legal presence for non-US born applicants, and proof of residence in Connecticut.
What to Know About Trespassing Laws in Connecticut
There are three degrees of criminal trespass in Connecticut—here’s what to know.
Kathryn Mae Kurlychek
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Connecticut: Do You Need It?
Connecticut traffic law requires drivers to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in addition to a liability insurance policy.
How To Get a Connecticut Motorcycle License
To obtain a Connecticut motorcycle endorsement, you’ll need to pass vision and knowledge tests, get a learner’s permit, and take a safety course.
What is the Driving Age in Connecticut?
You need to be at least 16 years of age to get your Learner’s Permit in Connecticut, 16 and 4 months to obtain a restricted license, and 18 years old to receive an unrestricted license.
What You Need to Know About Emissions Testing in Connecticut
CT emissions tests are required in every county. Certain vehicles may be exempt—like fully electric vehicles, motorcycles, and vehicles 4 years old or newer.
How to Deal with Rising Gas Prices in Connecticut
Connecticut has had one of the biggest increases in gas prices nationwide and the cost continues to fluctuate due to global economic uncertainty.
Connecticut License Plates
There are over 50 custom license plates to choose from in Connecticut—here’s a peek at all the options and how to get them.
How to Complete a DMV Change of Address in Connecticut
To change your DMV address in Connecticut, you can visit a local branch or complete a form online or by mail.
A Complete Guide to Connecticut Car Accident Laws
Connecticut car accident laws dictate the time you have to file an injury lawsuit after a crash, as well as the number of damages you’re eligible to collect.
How to Get a Connecticut Handicap Placard (and Who’s Eligible)
Drivers must have a disabled license plate or display a disabled parking placard to use a disabled parking space in Connecticut.
All You Need to Know About I-91
I-91 runs north to south along western New England, connecting cities like New Haven, Hartford, and Springfield.
The 8 Best Hartford Radio Stations
From morning talk radio for your AM commute to classic rock and hip-hop to get you through the afternoon, these are the best Hartford radio stations.
Driving to Connecticut: Tips, Tricks, and Laws
Map out the best route to Connecticut and learn the local laws before hitting the road for your next trip!
How Bad Is Hartford Traffic?
Hartford drivers know just how difficult traffic there can be, justifying the Connecticut town’s ranking as number 62 on TomTom’s list of worst traffic cities.
How to Donate a Car in Connecticut
From Habitat for Humanity to Vehicles for Veterans, there are plenty of ways to donate your old car in Connecticut—and earn a hefty tax break!
How to Replace a Lost Connecticut Driver’s License
Request a replacement Connecticut driver’s license online, by mail, or in-person by paying a $30 fee.
Can You Turn Right on Red in Connecticut?
Right turns on red lights are allowed in Connecticut. Drivers must use caution and understand the law. Learn more here.
How to Get a Connecticut Driver’s License Reinstatement
Using mail or e-mail, you can reinstate your Connecticut driver’s license in as little as 10 business days for a $175 fee.
Car Sales Tax in Connecticut
Connecticut has a statewide sales tax of 6.35% on car purchases under $50,000 and 7.75% on cars over $50,000.
The 10 Most Common Ways to Get a Suspended License in Connecticut
Failing to pay traffic tickets, a DUI conviction, or driving without insurance are just some of the ways your driver’s license can be suspended in Connecticut.
Connecticut REAL ID: What You Need to Know
Starting in May 2023, you’ll need to have a REAL ID-compliant license or ID if you want to use it to board a domestic flight.
Gifting a Car in Connecticut
You can gift a car in Connecticut by transferring the title and registering it at your local DMV. You don’t pay tax if you gift the car to a family member.
How to Renew Your Driver's License in Connecticut
You can renew your Connecticut driver’s license online, by mail, or in person. It’ll cost you either $72 or $96.
Connecticut Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Under Connecticut law, motorcycle operators and passengers under 18 years of age must wear helmets.
All Questions on Connecticut
How far is the drive from New Jersey to Connecticut?
I’m going to Connecticut for college! The only problem is that I don’t know if that means I’ll be able to come home on the weekends. How far is the drive from New Jersey to Connecticut?
How many hours of driving are required before you can get a license in CT?
I just got my CT learner’s permit, and I’m so excited! I can’t wait to finally be able to drive on my own. How much driving practice is required before you can get your driver’s license in Connecticut?
How long is the drive from New York to Connecticut?
My boyfriend wants to take me to Connecticut to meet his parents, but that seems like a long drive for a day trip. How long is the drive from New York to Connecticut?
What is the most common car in Connecticut?
I’ve satisfied my wish for a fancy car, and I’m over how expensive the upkeep has been over the years. For my next car, I want to buy something more reliable. Which car is the most popular in Connecticut?
What national parks are in New England?
Does New England have any cool national parks that I could visit? I love hiking and exploring the outdoors, but it seems like lots of the big national parks are on the West Coast.
How can I get to Florida from New England?
Is there an easy way to drive down the East Coast, from the very Northeast of the United States to the tip of Florida?
What is the best route from Connecticut to New Jersey?
I’m from Connecticut and visiting my boyfriend at Rutgers for the first time. What’s the best way to get to New Jersey?
What’s the best route from Connecticut to Florida?
I need to go to Florida for a few weeks for work and I’m thinking I may drive, as I’d like to see some parts of the country that I’ve never been to before. What’s the best route to take?
What are some unusual places to visit in Connecticut?
I’m spending the summer with my grandparents in Connecticut, and I want to use the time to see some cool stuff throughout the state. What are some unusual things I should go see in Connecticut?
What are Connecticut’s speed limits?
I am moving to Connecticut in a few months and want to familiarize myself with the driving laws to avoid issues. What are the speed limits on Connecticut roads?
Why is gas so expensive in Connecticut?
Gas is getting so expensive that we’re thinking of changing up our driving habits. But why is gas so high right now in CT?
Mary Alice Morris
Where are the rest stops on I95 in CT?
Next month, I’ll be traveling from New Jersey to Providence, RI for a family wedding. I’ll have my two young sons with me and want to know about the rest areas in Connecticut along I95, both coming and going. Where are the rest stops on I95 in CT?
Does Connecticut have toll roads?
I’m taking the fam’ on a whirlwind road trip down the Eastern Seaboard before the kids head back to school. We’re making stops along the way, including staying with my old friend who has a house on the beach in Mystic, Connecticut. Are there toll roads in Connecticut?
Is lane splitting legal in Connecticut?
I see a lot of motorcycles lane splitting on the highway. Is that actually allowed?
Is a front license plate required in Connecticut?
I’ll be moving to Connecticut for a new job soon and will be getting a new car! I like the clean look without the front license plate but wanted to check if the front plate is required in Connecticut?
Is a seatbelt ticket a moving violation in Connecticut?
I got ticketed last week in Connecticut for not wearing my seatbelt—and now I’m freaked out that my already high insurance rate is going to go up even more. Does the seatbelt ticket count as a moving violation?
Can you turn right on red in Connecticut?
My family and I are planning a road trip from New York City to Boston, but I’ve never driven through Connecticut before and I’m not sure about their traffic laws. Can you turn right on red in Connecticut?
What is a moving violation in CT?
I just got a ticket for using my mobile phone while driving. The ticket is pretty expensive, plus I’m worried about the points associated with a moving violation on my record. What is a moving violation in Connecticut?
Get Advice for Other Topics
Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free
No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies