In Tennessee, the law gives police and property owners the right to tow vehicles that are parked illegally or have been abandoned—but that’s not the full story. Retrieving your vehicle after it’s been impounded will also require paying pricey fees, so it’s crucial to be aware of the laws surrounding towing in the state.
When can police tow a vehicle in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, the towing laws are comparatively straightforward, but we’ll just hit the top three most pertinent towing laws to make it even simpler. To start things off, let’s look at the circumstances that could lead to police towing a vehicle in the Volunteer State.
For legal purposes, a vehicle is considered “immobile” if it cannot be moved due to a breakdown, weather, accident, or another emergency. Be sure to note that this law means your car can be towed in less than 12 hours if it’s parked illegally.
How to get your car out of an impound lot in Tennessee
So your car got towed, and now it’s in an impound lot—what do you do next? The process will differ depending on what city you’re in. To get your vehicle back, the first step you’ll need to take is to call your local impound lot to locate your car, or call the local police department to find out where your vehicle was taken.
When you go to retrieve your vehicle, you’ll need to bring the following items with you:
You’ll also be expected to pay a fee to get your car back, which can cost up to $200 for average vehicles—but it can vary depending on the city and circumstances.
When can private property owners tow a vehicle in Tennessee?
Now we know all the scenarios that could cause you to be towed by police in Tennessee, but private property owners can also legally have your car towed.
When can your car be towed from a parking lot in Tennessee?
To avoid being towed, be sure to look out for any posted signage—no matter where you’re parking.
How to save on car insurance in Tennessee