Seat-Belt Laws in Ohio
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Seat-belt laws in Ohio dictate that the driver and passengers seated in the front seat must wear a seat-belt. Passengers between the ages of 8 and 15 must always be belted, no matter where they are seated in the vehicle. Passengers 16 and older are not required to wear a seat-belt in the back seat in Ohio.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat-belt. Be safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about the Ohio seat-belt law so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat-belt laws in Ohio?
The driver and passengers seated in the front seat are required by Ohio law to wear a seat-belt. Passengers between the ages of 8 and 15 need to wear a seat-belt at all times, no matter where they are seated in the vehicle.
Passengers older than the age of 16 are not legally required to wear seat-belts in the back seat. However, for safety’s sake, it’s wise to wear a seat-belt at all times.
Key Takeaway All front-seat passengers are required by law to wear a seat-belt in Ohio. Kids between the ages of 8 and 15 must be belted at all times.
What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Ohio?
Breaking the Ohio seat-belt law will result in a $30 fine for the driver, plus $20 for the passenger. In Ohio, drivers are not responsible for ensuring their passengers are belted.
In Ohio, breaking the seat-belt law is considered a nonmoving violation. This means that you won’t get any points on your driving record like you would for a speeding ticket.
A police officer is not allowed to pull you over in Ohio if they spot a seat-belt violation, as it’s considered a secondary offense. But you can still receive a ticket for breaking the Ohio seat-belt law if you get pulled over for another reason.
Key Takeaway Breaking the Ohio seat-belt law will result in a $30 fine if you’re the driver and a $20 fine if you’re a passenger.
Could it impact my driving record?
Breaking the Ohio seat-belt law is unlikely to impact your driving record. Since breaking this law is considered a nonmoving violation in Ohio, you will not receive points on your driving record.
It will show up on your driver abstract, however, which means that your insurance company will probably find out about it.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
Possibly. Seat-belt tickets won’t affect your insurance in most states. You might see a very slight change in your premiums.
However, your insurance company will definitely notice if you wrack up a ton of seat-belt tickets. This could trigger a larger increase in your premiums.
Finding cheap car insurance in Ohio
If you’re shopping for car insurance in Ohio, the Jerry app is a good place to start. A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
“Ended up saving $129 a month. Couldn’t believe how freaking easy that was.” - Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually