How to Check If Your New Jersey Driver’s License Is Suspended

Call the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission to check the status of your license, or request your driver abstract online.
Written by R.E. Fulton
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
To check if your New Jersey driver’s license is suspended, call the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJMVC) at 609-292-6500 or request your driver abstract online
  • A New Jersey driver’s license can be suspended for a variety of infractions, from moving violations and drug offenses to failure to pay child support. 
  • You can check the status of your license and review your driving record by phone, online, or in person at the DMV.  

How to check the status of your license in New Jersey

The easiest way to find out if your New Jersey driver’s license is suspended is to call the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission at 609-292-6500 or 1-888-486-3339. You can check the status of your license and request a driver history abstract, which summarizes the reason for your suspension. 
You can also
request your driver abstract online
or go to an MVC location near you to inquire about your license suspension. Whether you check the status of your suspended license online, in person, or by phone, be sure to ask about: 
  • The
    reason for the suspension
    (e.g. DUI, driving without insurance, unpaid child support, exceeding the number of
    violation points
    permitted by NJ’s point system)
  • The duration of the suspension 
  • Any steps you need to take to
    reinstate your license
    (e.g. paying outstanding fines or taking a defensive driving course)
MORE: The traffic tickets that have the greatest effect on your car insurance rates
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

How to get a NJ driver’s license reinstated

If your driving privileges have been suspended by the state of New Jersey, you need two things to get them back: time and money
There’s a $100 reinstatement fee for any suspended license in New Jersey—but just paying the restoration fee might not be enough to get your license back. You’ll also need to serve the full court-ordered suspension period, which varies based on the type of offense that led to the suspension in the first place. 
For example,
a first-offense DWI
with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .10% or more comes with a mandatory suspension for a minimum of three months, along with vehicle impoundment, at least 30 days of jail time, and fines from $300 to $500. 
But if you’re convicted of a second offense, your license could be suspended for one year to two years. Whatever the period of suspension attached to your license, you’ll need to wait until the full term is up before you can pay for a reinstatement
Depending on the reason for the suspension, you might also need to: 
  • Provide proof of payment for any NJMVC surcharges
  • Complete an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC) program or another driver improvement program
  • Complete mandatory community service 
Once you’ve met all the requirements to have your driver’s license suspension lifted, you’ll need to send the license restoration fee to the NJMVC. You can
pay the fee online
or send a check or money order (payable to NJMVC) to the following address: 
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 165
Trenton, NJ 08666-0165
Include the bottom portion of your suspension notice (if you have it) and make sure your driver’s license number is listed on any payment.
A final warning: while getting your New Jersey driver’s license reinstated can be a pain, it’s better to check off all these boxes than to
drive with a suspended license
For a first offense, the penalty for driving with a suspended license is $500 and an extra six months added to the suspension period—and the consequences just get steeper from there. 
MORE: 5 traffic violations that could land you in jail
“My speeding ticket raised my insurance to $310/month.
Jerry
got me full comprehensive coverage on two vehicles for $144/month through Progressive. I definitely recommend giving them a try.” —Brandon D.
Simplify your car insurance search with Jerry.
Find the best coverage at the best price, hassle-free.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees
icon4.717k Ratings
5M+Drivers Joined
7M+Cars Garaged
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings