Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
Single-car drivers in Tallahassee pay an average of $3,230 annually for car insurance. That’s about $269 per month to insure your car.
Tallahassee may have a reputation for being an affordable place for car insurance, but there are still several factors that could drive up your rates.
Whether you stick to your state’s minimum liability requirements or opt for a full-coverage policy with comprehensive and collision insurance, your home state plays a big role in determining how much you pay to protect your wallet against car-related expenses.
To find the best coverage options for your vehicle in Florida, download Jerry, the world’s first super app for car owners and your key to optimized insurance!
Best car insurance companies in Tallahassee
There’s no single company that offers the best rate to everyone in Tallahassee. If you’ve recently moved or are looking to optimize your coverage, the best option is to compare multiple quotes from different companies. Sound like a drag? The Jerry app can get it done in a matter of seconds, saving you time and money while setting you up with the best coverage available!
Take a look at the table below for a comparison of real Jerry customers’ rates in Tallahassee:
No matter what provider you choose, you’ll need to meet your state’s minimum legal requirements for car insurance. In most cases, that means buying a certain amount of liability insurance, but you may also need to carry uninsured motorist coverage, medical payments coverage, or personal injury protection.
State requirements and risk assessments associated with zip codes mean your rate could vary not just from state to state or city to city, but block to block! With so many factors at play, finding the best coverage becomes dizzyingly complex. That’s why Jerry exists: to simplify car insurance comparison with authoritative quotes from over 55 top insurance providers.
Some studies show that February and August are the best months to buy cheap car insurance. This might be because fewer people are buying cars and buying insurance during these months, so it’s easier to get lower prices.
You must buy car insurance as soon as you need it. You must have a policy before you get behind the wheel, otherwise, you’ll be breaking Florida minimum car insurance laws. Don’t wait until February!
Is car insurance in Florida cheaper?
No, full coverage car insurance in Florida is some of the most expensive in the country. Florida car insurance prices are among the top three highest, after Michigan and Connecticut. That’s partially because Florida drivers face more risk than other drivers, like dangerous weather patterns, traffic density, uninsured drivers (20% of all Floridians drive uninsured), and other high-risk drivers.
You can still find cheap (or cheaper) insurance in Florida, however. Compare quotes from multiple providers to find the lowest possible rate for your situation. You can also lower the amount of coverage you’re shopping for. You can legally drive in Florida so long as you have at least $10,000 each of PIP and PDL coverage.
How much does car insurance in Tallahassee cost?
Rates for car insurance in the same state can fluctuate wildly depending on your specific zip code. Depending on your city’s demographics—including population density, average age, and accident rate—your car insurance premiums may be much higher or lower than a neighboring city.
Here’s what real Jerry customers paid for car insurance in Tallahassee:
How do Tallahassee insurance rates compare to similar areas? Take a look at the table below to see.
Let’s break down what makes car insurance in Tallahassee so expensive. The graph below shows how much Florida drivers pay, on average, for liability insurance, comprehensive coverage, and collision insurance—the three main elements of what’s called “full coverage car insurance.”
Liability coverage, which is the bare minimum required by law, covers repairs and medical expenses for other drivers if you’re in a collision
Comprehensive insurance covers repairs to your car caused by something other than a collision (e.g. vandalism, natural disasters, or theft)
Collision insurance covers repair costs for your vehicle following a collision with another car or a stationary object
So, how much car insurance does Florida require?
How much insurance do I need in Florida?
In Florida, drivers need $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability per accident.
What do you need if you’re pulled over?
If you get pulled over, you are required to show your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and registration. Thankfully, digital insurance ID cards are accepted by police and the DMV so you will always have your stored proof of insurance available 24/7 in the Jerry app.
Is Florida a no-fault state?
Yes, Florida is a no-fault state. This means you must carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage which immediately pays for injuries to you and your passengers regardless of who is at fault for the accident or if you have health insurance. However, fault, or liability, is still a factor for property damage and bodily injury claims.
Take a look at the graph to visualize how much your expenses could increase if you opt for full coverage.
But those are just the minimum requirements you need to avoid a violation. If you’re in an accident, state minimum insurance might not cover all your expenses—especially if you or anyone in your vehicle is injured, or your car sustains significant damage.
That’s why experts generally suggest carrying more than the minimum required coverage. As previously mentioned, so-called “full-coverage” policy typically includes liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
On top of that coverage, you can check out special add-ons to fit your situation, vehicle, and unique needs. Do a lot of driving on remote back roads? Towing and labor coverage could get you out of a tight spot. Work for a rideshare company? Be sure to invest in rideshare insurance. You can even add specialized insurance for your car’s sound system if you’ve got a premium audio setup.
Best car insurance for bad drivers in Tallahassee
Listen, we’re not here to judge. Maybe you had a bad day and ended up with a reckless driving charge or a DUI. Maybe you had a really good day and landed yourself an accidental speeding ticket.
No matter the reasons behind your tickets, even minor traffic violations can have an outsize impact on your insurance premium, especially if they’re repeated. And just one major offense (think DUI) could get you labeled as a “high-risk driver” by your insurance company. Worst of all, that label can follow you for years in some cases—even if you’ve cleaned up your act and drive like a saint.
Here’s where Jerry comes in. Even if your driving record is less than stellar (like, a lot less), there are still ways to optimize your rates and coverage to get the policy you need. Here’s how much Jerry customers in Tallahassee with a history of violations saved on insurance:
How much is car insurance in Tallahassee with a DUI?
If you have a DUI on your record, your car insurance premium in Tallahassee could increase by as much as 27%.
How much does your car insurance increase after a speeding ticket in Tallahassee?
If you’re caught speeding through Tallahassee and end up with a ticket, you can expect to see your insurance rate jump by about 37%. And keep in mind—repeated speeding tickets could cause an even bigger increase!
How many drivers in Tallahassee have been in an accident?
About 12.51% of drivers in Tallahassee have been in an accident - resulting in an average rate increase of 37%.
How many fatal accidents happen in Tallahassee each year?
According to local accident statistics, there are roughly 15.4 fatal accidents per 100,000 residents in the city of Tallahassee each year. Insurance won’t protect you against accidents like this, so be sure to drive safely!
Best car insurance in Tallahassee by age
Young people get stereotyped all the time—but when insurance companies do it, it can cost you hundreds of dollars a year!
Best car insurance in Tallahassee for young drivers
That’s because insurance companies use age as a metric for risk. Providers see young drivers as less experienced and more likely to submit claims (i.e., cost them money) than older drivers—so they tend to hike rates for anyone under 25.
Of course, you know that no magic switch it going to flip when you turn 25 to make you a safer driver. You might even be the safest driver you know! But that won’t stop insurance companies from saddling you with a high rate.
To keep your rates low at a young age, check out these simple hacks:
Plenty of insurance companies offer good student discounts to anyone under age 25 with a B average or higher. If you’re still in school, your grades could be the key to insurance savings!
If you can get on a family plan with an older relative or friend, you’ll benefit from their lower risk rating and get a lower rate on the same coverage.
Check for state-approved defensive driving courses. Many insurance companies will give you a discount if you can prove that you’ve attended a course.
Play the long game and stick with one insurance company for a few years. If you maintain a good driving record, you could score multiple discounts for loyalty and safe driving!
Telematics programs like Jerry’s Drive Well, Earn Perks offer discounts and rewards for safe driving—and instead of basing your savings on your age, it’ll be based directly on how you actually drive!
Want to see how much more you might pay for car insurance in Tallahassee based on your age? Check out the table below.
Car insurance in Tallahassee for your car
Your age and driving record aren’t the only things that determine your car insurance rates in Tallahassee. The vehicle you drive also plays a role.
The Toyota Prius is one of the most popular cars in Florida—and it’s cheaper to insure than a lot of the SUVs and electric cars on the road today. But if you drive a minivan, a truck, or a sports car, you might be looking at a higher premium than your other Tallahassee neighbors.
Take a look at the table below for a full rundown of how much insurance for different makes costs in Tallahassee.
More people in Tallahassee drive a Bmw 528 I than any other car! On average, these drivers pay $2,584 for their auto insurance.
What is the most expensive car to insure in Tallahassee?
At an average of $7,431 per year, a Nissan Pathfinder S is the most expensive car to insure in Tallahassee. If you drive one, we’re sorry.
Car insurance cost based on where you live in Tallahassee:
Now, we’ve been talking about “drivers in Tallahassee” as if everyone sees the same rates—but in fact, your rate can vary by zip code, making it possible to have a completely different rate from your neighbor two blocks away.
Why? The simple answer: accident rates and property crimes. Maybe your zip code puts you closer to a major road with tons of accidents, or you’re in a hotspot for auto theft. Within Tallahassee, drivers in the 32303, 32304, 32309, 32307 and 32305 zip code typically have the highest car insurance premiums, while the cheapest rates are found in the 32317, 32308, 32312, 32301 and 32311 code.
Want to see the average rates in your zip code? Take a look at the breakdown below.
Finding a good car insurance policy in Tallahassee is just the beginning. If you’re new to the area, here’s everything you should know about driving in Tallahassee.
Tallahassee driving FAQs
What are the average gas prices in Tallahassee?
The price of gas in Tallahassee varies over time, but it’s typically about 3.3% lower than the national average. For tips to help save money on gas, check out our guide!
What is the rate of catalytic converter theft in Tallahassee
On average, 3.05 catalytic converters are stolen annually in Tallahassee per 1,000 cars.
What is the average commute time in Tallahassee?
Tallahassee ranked #47 for most congested city in the United States. The average Tallahassee driver lost 19 hours in congestion in 2021. Traffic peaks are between 7am and 8:30 am, with 7:30 am-7:59 am being the busiest. About 14739 commuters are on the road between 7:30 and 7:59am.
How can you save money on car insurance in Tallahassee?
Let’s face it: living in Tallahassee means living with higher than average insurance rates. Add that to an already high cost of living overall, and saving money on insurance becomes a great way to free up space in your budget.
Sound impossible? Not at all! Here are a few simple ways to save money on car insurance in Tallahassee.
Compare quotes and shop often
That’s right—shopping for car insurance doesn’t have to be a one-and-done. In fact, experts recommend comparing quotes from at least three companies and shopping for new rates every six months!
Okay, we agree: that sounds like a huge pain, especially if it’s only saving you a few extra dollars each month. That’s why we created Jerry, the world’s first super app for car owners. The Jerry app takes the time, effort, and hassle out of car insurance shopping through the power of technology.
In just 45 seconds, Jerry can collect quotes from a pool of 55+ top insurance providers to help you identify the best coverage at the best rate for you. Pick the quote you like, and Jerry will handle all the paperwork—we’ll even help you cancel your old policy! Best of all, Jerry conducts routine price monitoring so you never have to worry about shopping for new rates again.
And the savings? The average Jerry user saves over $800 a year just by letting the app do their shopping.
Hunt for discounts
Here’s the one insurance savings hack that requires a little legwork on your part: finding discounts. Every insurance company offers them, but they’re not all the same, and companies often won’t advertise them directly.
That means it’s on you to search for the best discounts for you. Call your insurance company and ask about the following types of discount:
Good driver discounts:
Tallahassee drivers are in luck—state law mandates 20% insurance discounts for drivers with one or fewer points on their license who have continuously held a license for three years with no at-fault accidents responsible for injury or death.
You need to prove a long record of safe driving for a state-mandated good driver discount, but many companies offer easy-to-win discounts to drivers who use telematics to track their driving habits. You might even get a discount just for signing up!
Good student discounts:
Are you a full-time student in either high school or college? Do you have a B average or better? You probably qualify for a discount from your insurance company.
You’ve heard it before—bundle your home and auto insurance (or auto and renters) with the same company, and you could get a discount on both policies.
These are just some of the most popular car insurance discounts in Florida—but it’s not an exhaustive list! Call your agent and ask what other discounts are available.
Increase your deductible
If you’ve got full coverage car insurance, increasing your deductible is an easy way to keep your monthly expenses low without sacrificing coverage.
If you’re wondering “what is my deductible, actually?”, think of it as the amount you’ll pay out of pocket before insurance kicks in. Keeping your deductible low ensures you won’t have to pay much in the event of an accident—but it also means your monthly costs will be higher.
Raising your deductible will lower your regular payments, and if you’re already practicing safe driving for discounts, it’s a win-win! Just make sure that you have enough to cover the deductible if you do get into an accident—after all, there’s no way to predict and prevent every collision.