Will the Texas state minimum cover me enough if I am involved in an accident?

"My new job has me moving to Texas in the next month or so. I am doing a little research on car insurance and it looks like I am required to carry lower limits than I have previously. Does this mean the lower limits in Texas are enough to cover me in an accident?"

Answer
“Great question!
Every state is different and they have different law and insurance requirements. The minimum standards set by the state only means this is the lowest you can carry. It is not a recommendation of what limits will cover you best.
Texas has required auto insurance liability limits of 30/60/25. The recommendation for most drivers to be appropriately covered in most situations is 100/300/50. This means that bodily injury liability will pay up to $100,000 per person and up to $300,000 per occurrence. The property damage liability will pay up to $50,000 per occurrence.
Selecting the proper levels of insurance is essential and must be tailored to fit your life. If you have a lot of assets like a home, high earning potential, 401K, retirement plans, etc., you may want to carry higher than the recommended limits. If you have fewer assets, then the limits of 100/300/50 might work well for you.”
avatar
Shannon Martin
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Shannon is an expert in personal lines liability insurance with 13 + years of insurance industry experience. She also served as a special insurance liaison to AARP members for 6 of those years. She is a graduate of UL Lafayette and currently resides in NY with her family. Shannon is also an amateur juggler, ukulele player, and is a time travel paradox theory enthusiast.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies