Who is required to carry personal injury protection in Minnesota?

Is there any reason why you wouldn't qualify for PIP coverage?

Answer provided by
avatar
Emily Maracle
Answered on Jul 07, 2021
Emily Maracle is a car insurance specialist living in New York. Originally from the Pacific Northwest, she has a degree in English Literature and a background in customer service. She enjoys cooking, gardening, and living sustainably. In the future, she can't wait to upgrade to a hybrid or electric car.
Personal injury protection (PIP) is required for every driver in Minnesota. Among other coverages, PIP is part of Minnesota’s state minimum car insurance requirements.
Per state law, you are required to carry at least $40,000 in PIP coverage. This is on a per accident basis. When choosing this amount, $20,000 is provided for hospital/medical expenses and the other $20,000 for non-medical expenses like lost wages.
Many carriers also offer the option for higher PIP coverage limits on their policies.
Since it’s required, there isn’t any reason why you wouldn’t qualify for coverage. Having health insurance also won’t impact your PIP coverage. Most health insurance companies require that PIP or medical payments coverage pay first in an auto accident, so your health insurance would be secondary coverage.”
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies