What's the penalty for driving without car insurance in California?
I was late making my car insurance payment because of a lack of funds, and my company canceled my policy. What penalty will I face for not having insurance in California? I'm going to get insurance again as soon as I have enough money.
If you’re caught driving without insurance in California, you’ll be fined $100 to $200 for a first offense and $200 to $500 for a second offense. Your car might also be impounded, and you’ll have to pay extra fees to get it back.
You may also be required to get an SR22 form, which proves you have the minimum amount of auto liability coverage required by law.
If you get into an accident, you driver’s license could be suspended for up to four years. And if you’re at fault for the accident, you’ll be responsible for the cost of injuries and damages.
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Should I drop my liability insurance to the minimum state coverage in Pennsylvania?
I'm a student with limited income in Pennsylvania. I had full coverage on my vehicle, but I want to cut expenses. Should I drop my coverage to the legal minimum?
Apr 23, 2021
Should my auto insurance liability limits match the value of my assets?
I have FL state-minimum liability coverage. I am worried that I do not have enough coverage, but I do not have any assets besides my clothes and my car. I live in an apartment with four roommates and everything we have is used and old.
Apr 26, 2021
What should I do if I get into an accident with a leased Toyota Sienna?
I am leasing a Toyota Sienna and it was hit in a parking lot. My insurance carrier is MetLife and I also have gap insurance. Who should I contact?
May 03, 2021