What’s the best year for a used Dodge Journey?
My husband and I love the Dodge Journey, but since it’s discontinued we’ll have to buy used. What model year should we be looking for?
Jacqulyn Graber · Answered on Jan 24, 2023
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
Even though you’ll end up with an older Journey, there are still many benefits to buying a used car! The best years for the Dodge Journey include any of the models from 2015 to 2019.
As for which years to steer clear of, definitely avoid earlier models as drivers report these repeated issues:
- Interior accessory troubles
- Interior water leaks
- Malfunctioning remote keyless entry
- Brake problems
- Engine issues
Overall, newer Journeys make pretty good used vehicles. The Dodge Journey gets a 4.0 out of 5.0 reliability rating from RepairPal, which ranks it 6th out of 26 for midsize SUVs. The average annual repair cost is $562—a pretty average ownership cost rating when compared to other SUVs.
MORE: Dodge common problems
View full answer
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
Browse More Content
Insurance in Your State
What Others Are Asking
How do I get out of a negative equity trap?
The value of my home has dropped dramatically in recent years, and I now owe more on my mortgage than my house is worth. How do I fix my negative equity?
Apr 05, 2022
Are driving tests canceled due to rain?
I scheduled my driving test, but the weather forecast looks like it’s going to rain. Can you take your driving test if it’s raining?
Jan 19, 2022
Are headlights covered under a Jeep warranty?
I’m thinking about buying a new Jeep, but I want to learn more about the warranties before I make such a large purchase. While I found some information, I wasn’t sure about headlight coverage. Does the Jeep warranty cover headlights?
Sep 19, 2022
Read Advice From Car Experts At Jerry
How to Get a Rebuilt Title in Alabama
To get a rebuilt title in Alabama, you will need to obtain a rebuilder’s license, make any repairs necessary, and pay a rebuilt title fee of $15.
Everything You Need to Know About California’s Texting and Driving Laws
Drivers will receive a minimum fine of $162 for texting while driving under California’s new traffic laws.