Services
Insurance
Loans
Repairs
Advice
About

What speed is considered reckless driving in California?

I want to take a road trip along the Pacific Coast Highway, but I’m a bit limited on time when it comes to the actual driving part. I can handle a speeding ticket, but how fast is considered a reckless driving ticket in California?

avatar
Eric Schad · Updated on
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
No specific speed is considered reckless driving in California. Instead, it's up to the discretion of law enforcement whether to charge someone speeding with reckless driving.
California Vehicle Code Section 23103 defines reckless driving as willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Some examples of reckless driving are:
  • Swerving across multiple lanes
  • Street racing
  • Going the wrong way down a one-way street
  • Passing a stopped school bus
  • Driving on a sidewalk
A reckless driving charge in California is a misdemeanor, which could result in:
  • Jail time of up to 90 days
  • Fines from $145 to $1,000
Hopefully, you never get a speeding or reckless driving ticket—if you do, your
car insurance rates
are likely to increase. Of course, that’s where
Jerry
can help.
Jerry is a licensed insurance broker and insurance comparison tool that collects quotes from over 50 top-rated insurers in minutes. It's the easiest way to find
cheap California car insurance
in under a minute!
MORE: How much a distracted driving ticket costs you in the long run
View full answer 
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.

Join 4M+ members in lowering their car insurance

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings