What should I do if I'm an out-of-state driver and I'm in an accident in a no-fault state like Michigan?
I'm from Ohio and traveled to Michigan. Another driver hit me and is at fault. I filed a third-party claim with their insurance company, but they told me they were liable for no medical bills and only $1,000 for property damage. What now?
“Nearly all car insurance policies from the major companies will cover your medical bills with personal injury protection (PIP), which is a requirement in no-fault states. Your out-of-state policy should provide you with the minimum PIP coverage required in Michigan.
Your property damage is another matter. You can take the $1,000 and pay the rest out of pocket, or you can hire an attorney and sue the other driver for the rest.
Your car insurance provider should be helping you in this case because of the confusing differences between no-fault and tort (at-fault) laws in each state.
Call your agent to ask what you should do. They’ll be more than willing to help you if it can offset some of their costs.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Browse by topics
What others are asking
"How much money should I ask for when applying for a loan for a $25,000 car? "
"The kind of car I am looking to buy is in the $25,000 range. I haven’t found the exact car I want to buy yet, but I do want to get a loan before going to the dealership. How do I know how much to apply for? "
May 25, 2021
What information about my home should I have prepared when I'm shopping for insurance?
I'm on the hunt for new home insurance. What info do I need to have when getting quotes?
Mar 01, 2021