What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Minnesota?

I just moved to Minnesota from Arizona, and the car insurance quotes seem to be more expensive here. What happens if I don't get a new insurance policy in the state?

Answer
“Driving without auto insurance in Minnesota is considered a misdemeanor offense. Anybody charged with driving without insurance could face up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000, and at least $200.
Considering the average cost of car insurance for drivers with a clean driving record in Michigan is less than $200, getting caught even once without insurance can be as much as several months of car insurance, not to mention the cost of getting into an accident.
Additionally, driving without car insurance puts you at risk of having your license suspended, and getting a license reinstated can lead to additional costs.
Car insurance doesn’t have to be unaffordable. Try using the free Jerry app. A licensed broker, Jerry compares quotes from the top companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free